Know constituencies of UP Assembly polls 2017: KARHAL

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Uttar Pradesh will go to Assembly elections early in 2017. The state has an Assembly comprising 403 seats and a party/alliance has to win 202 seats to form the government.

In 2012, when the last state election was held in UP, the Samajwadi Party had won 224 seats to get a decisive majority. [Know constituencies of UP Assembly polls]


OneIndia will take one Assembly constituency a day and have a look at electoral information related to it:

Constituency Name: Karhal (SC)

  • Constituency No. 110
  • District: Mainpuri
  • District Area: 2,745 sq km
  • District population: 1,847,194
  • District literacy: 78.26%

2012 Assembly election result in Karhal

  • Winner: Sobaran Singh Yadav (SP)
  • Votes received: 92,536
  • Vote percentage: 46.9%
  • Nearest rival: Jaivir Singh (BSP)
  • Votes: 61,593
  • Percentage: 31.2%
  • Difference: 30,943
  • Margin: 15.7%
  • Total voters: 3,23,656
  • Turnout: 1,97,315 ( 60.96 %)

First election in Karhal assembly constituency was held in 1957 after the delimitation order was passed in 1956.

Extant of Karhal Assembly constituency is KC Barnahal, Karhal & Karhal NP of Karhal Tehsil; KCs Ghiror, Kuchela & Ghiror NP of Mainpuri Tehsil.

Karhal is surrounded by Saifai, Jaswantnagar Tehsils towards South and Mainpuri Tehsil towards North.

2014 Lok Sabha result in Mainpuri

Samajwadi Party supremo Mulayam Singh Yadav defeated BJP candidate Shatrughan Singh Chauhan by 3,64,666 votes and by a margin of 36.49%.

Please Wait while comments are loading...