Know constituencies of UP Assembly polls 2017: BIJNOR [GEN]

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Uttar Pradesh will go to Assembly elections early in 2017. The state has an Assembly comprising 403 seats and a party/alliance has to win 202 seats to form the government.

In 2012, when the last state election was held in UP, the Samajwadi Party had won 224 seats to get a decisive majority.

<------Previous seat: NEHTAUR [21]

------->Next seat: CHANDPUR [23]

Know UP constituencies: BIJNOR

Oneindia will take one Assembly constituency a day and have a look at electoral information related to it:

Constituency Name: Bijnor

[Comprises KC Mandawar, Bijnor, Dara Nagar, Mandawar NP, Jhalu NP & Bijnor MB of Bijnor Tehsil]

  • Constituency No. 22
  • District: Bijnor (Bijnor is an Assembly segment under Bijnor Lok Sabha constituency)
  • District Area: 4,561 square kilometres
  • District population: 36,82,713 (general caste 78.5%; SC 21.4%; ST 0.1%)
  • District literacy: 58%
  • District urbanisation: 25.1%

2012 Assembly election result in Bijnor

  • Winner: Kunwar Bhartendra Singh (BJP)/Ruchi Veera of SP won it in the 2014 by-election after Singh was elected as MP in the 2014 Lok Sabha election.
  • Votes received: 68,969
  • Vote percentage: 32.94
  • Nearest rival: Mahboob (BSP)
  • Votes: 51,133
  • Percentage: 24.42
  • Difference: 17,836
  • Margin %: 8.52
  • Total voters: 3,17,824
  • Turnout: 65.88%
  • Party which has won Bijnor most number of times: Congress won seven times; BJP thrice; BSP twice and SP once [since 1957]

2014 Lok Sabha result in Bijnor

Kunwar Bhartendra Singh (BJP) defeated Shahnawaz Rana (SP) by 2,05,794 votes (margin% 19.41)

Please Wait while comments are loading...