Know constituencies of UP Assembly polls 2017: BHAGWANTNAGAR

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Uttar Pradesh will go to Assembly elections early in 2017. The state has an Assembly comprising 403 seats and a party/alliance has to win 202 seats to form the government. In 2012, when the last state election was held in UP, the Samajwadi Party had won 224 seats to get a decisive majority. [Know constituencies of UP Assembly polls]

UP polls: know all about Bhagwantnagar

OneIndia will take one Assembly constituency a day and have a look at electoral information related to it:

Constituency Name: Bhagwantnagar (GEN)

  • Constituency No. 166
  • District: Unnao
  • Population of the district: 3,110,595
  • Overall Literacy: 68.29% 
  • Sex ratio: 901/1000

2012 Assembly election result

  • Winner: Kuldeep Singh Sengar (SP) 
  • Votes received: 69,514
  • Nearest rival: Poonam Shukla (BJP) 
  • Votes: 45,685
  • Difference: 23,829 
  • Margin: 23,829 (11.5%)
  • Total voters: 3,62,916
  • Turnout: 57.2 %

Bhagwantnagar comprises of 5-Bighapur Tehsil; KCs 2-Harha (excluding Pop. Included in AC No. 165) & 3-Sikandarpur Karan of 3-Unnao Tehsil.

Lok Sabha constituency

  • Bhagwantnagar Assembly seat falls under Unnao LS constituency
  • Unnao comprises of six assembly segments. These are Bangermau, Safipur (SC), Mohan (SC), Unnao, Bhagwant Nagar and Purwa.
  • In 2014 LS poll, BJP's Dr. Sachchidanand Hari Sakshi defeated SP's Arun Shankar Shukla from this seat.

Past results of Bhagwantnagar Assembly constituency

  • In 2007, Kripa Shankar Singh (BSP) defeated Nattho Singh (SP) with 17,327 votes.
  • In 2002, Natthu Singh (BSP) defeated Kripa Shanker Singh (BJP) with 23,477 votes.
Please Wait while comments are loading...