Know Constituencies of UP Assembly polls 2017: CHITRAKOOT

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Uttar Pradesh will go to Assembly elections early in 2017. The state has an Assembly comprising 403 seats and a party/alliance has to win 202 seats to form the government.

In 2012, when the last state election was held in UP, the Samajwadi Party had won 224 seats to get a decisive majority. Oneindia will take one Assembly constituency a day and have a look at electoral information related to it:

Constituency Name: CHITRAKOOT (236) GEN

[KCs 1-Karwi, 2-Parsaunja, 3-Sardhua, 4-Pahari, 5-Nandi &
Chitrakoot Dham (Karwi) MB of 1-Karwi Tehsil. ]

Constituency Number: 236

2012 Assembly Election Result in CHITRAKOOT

Winner: Veer Singh
Winning Party: SP
Winning Votes: 65,267
Runner Up: Ram Sevak
Runner Up Party: BSP
Runner Up Votes: 49,131
Total Votes: 1,82,425
Margin: 16,136
Margin Percent: 8.85%
Turnout: 60.55%
Electors: 3,01,262
Total Votes Polled: 1,82,425 (60.6%)
Total Valid Votes: 1,81,998 (60.4%)


Census Data for Chitrakoot

Total Area: 3,216 square kilometer
Total Population: 9,91,730
Total SC: 2,66,655
Total ST: 366
Male literates: 3,30,339
Female Literates: 2,00,733


Chitrakoot means the 'Hill of many wonders'. Chitrakoot falls in the northern Vindhya range of mountains spread over the states of Uttar Pradesh and Madhya Pradesh. Created on 4 September 1998, Chitrakoot Parvat Mala includes Kamad Giri, Hanumaan Dhara, Janki Kund, Lakshman pahari, and Devangana famous Religious mountains.

Please Wait while comments are loading...