Know Constituencies of UP Assembly polls 2017: BABERU (GEN)

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Uttar Pradesh will go to Assembly elections early in 2017. The state has an Assembly comprising 403 seats and a party/alliance has to win 202 seats to form the government. In 2012, when the last state election was held in UP, the Samajwadi Party had won 224 seats to get a decisive majority.

Oneindia will take one Assembly constituency a day and have a look at electoral information related to it:


<---------------------------Know Previous Constituency: TINDWARI

Constituency Name: BABERU (GEN)

[2-Baberu Tehsil]

Constituency Number: 233

2012 Assembly Election Result in BABERU

  • Winner: Vishambhar Singh 
  • Winning Party: SP 
  • Winning Votes: 41,642 
  • Runner Up: Brij Mohan Singh
  • Runner Up Party: BSP 
  • Runner Up Votes: 40,494 
  • Total Votes: 1,71,801 
  • Margin: 1,148
  • Margin Percent: 0.67% 
  • Turnout: 56.15%
  • Electors: 3,05,982
  • Total Votes Polled: 1,71,801 (56.2%)
  • Total Valid Votes: 1,71,486 (56.0%)

District: BANDA

Total Area: 4,408 square kilometer
Actual Population: 1,799,410
Male: 965,876
Female: 833,534
Total SC population: 3,87,855
Total ST population: 163
Male Literacy: 6,30,626
Female Literacy: 3,72,311


Banda is famous for its Shajar stone, used for making jewellery, and the historically and architecturally significant sites Khajuraho and Kalinjar. Khajuraho is a World Heritage Site famous for its elaborately carved temples. The fortress of Kalinjar is famed for its war history and its glorious rock sculptures.

Please Wait while comments are loading...