Know Constituencies of UP Assembly polls 2017: Orai

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Uttar Pradesh will go to Assembly elections early in 2017. The state has an Assembly comprising 403 seats and a party/alliance has to win 202 seats to form the government. In 2012, when the last state election was held in UP, the Samajwadi Party had won 224 seats to get a decisive majority.

Oneindia will take one Assembly constituency a day and have a look at electoral information related to it:



Constituency Name: ORAI (SC)

[4-Orai Tehsil; KC 3-Pirauna, PCs 63-Padari, 65-Anda 2nd, 66-Panyara, 67-Taharpura, 68-Kaithi, 69-Simiriya, 70-Dirawti, 74-Launa, 75-Pachipura Kalan, 78-Chhani, 79-Basti of 4-Konch KC of 5-Konch Tehsil; KC 3-Jalaun & Jalaun MB of 2-Jalaun Tehsil.]

Constituency Number: 221

  • Winner: Dayashankar 
  • Winning Party: SP 
  • Winning Votes: 67,298 
  • Runner Up: Satyendra Pratap
  • Runner Up Party: BSP 
  • Runner Up Votes: 60,165 
  • Total Votes: 2,37,444 
  • Margin: 7,133
  • Margin Percent: 3.00% 
  • Turnout: 57.71%
  • Electors: 4,11,457
  • Total Votes Polled: 2,37,444 (57.7%)
  • Total Valid Votes: 2,36,682 (57.5%)

District: JALAUN

  • Area Sq. Km: 4,565
  • Actual Population: 1,689,974
  • Men: 906,092
  • Women: 783,882


In 2006 the Ministry of Panchayati Raj named Jalaun one of the country's 250 most backward districts (out of a total of 640). It is one of the 34 districts in Uttar Pradesh currently receiving funds from the Backward Regions Grant Fund Programme.

Please Wait while comments are loading...