Know Constituencies of UP Assembly polls 2017: JAUNPUR

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Uttar Pradesh will go to Assembly elections early next year. The state has an Assembly comprising 403 seats. In order to form the government, a party or alliance has to win 202 seats.

Samajwadi Party had won 224 seats in the last state elections in 2012 and got decisive majority. OneIndia will take one Assembly constituency a day and have a look at electoral information related to it:

Know UP Constituencies: JAUNPUR

Constituency Name: Jaunpur

[Comprises KCs 5-Khetasarai, 6-Lapari & Khetasarai NP of 1-Shahganj Tehsil; KC 3-City & Jaunpur NP of 4-Jaunpur Tehsil]

Constituency No- 366

District: Jaunpur
About Jaunpur district: Jaunpur is divided into nine assembly constituencies -Badlapur, Jaunpur, Kerakat, Machhlishahr, Malhani, Mariyahu, Mungra Badshahpur, Shahganj and Zafrabad.

  • District Area: 4,038 square kilometres
  • District population: 44,94,204
  • District literacy: 60.8%

2012 Assembly election result for Jaunpur

  • Winner: Nadeem Javed
  • Winning Party: Congress
  • Votes received: 50,863
  • Runner Up: Tejbahadur Maurya 'Pappu'
  • Runner up party: BSP
  • Runner up votes: 49,624
  • Total votes: 2,00,631
  • Margin: 1239
  • Margin %: 0.62
  • Turnout %: 55.16

Census data for Jaunpur district

  • Total area: 4,038 square kilometer
  • Total population: 44,94,204 out of which 22,20,465 are males and 22,73,739 are females.

2014 Lok Sabha result in Jaunpur

BJP's Krishna Pratap defeated BSP's Subhash Pande by 1,43,310 votes.

Please Wait while comments are loading...