In pics: Nobel prize winners of India

Subscribe to Oneindia News

India's child rights activists Kailash Satyarthi on Wednesday received this year's Nobel Peace Prize along with Pakistan's Malala Yousafzai.

Satyarthi, 60, said receiving the prize was "a great opportunity" to further his work against child slavery. In his speech, Satyarthi said he was "representing the sound of silence" and the "millions of those children who are left behind". [India-Pak proud moment: Kailash Satyarthi, Malala Yousafzai conferred the Nobel Peace Prize]

Since 1901, the Nobel Prizes have been presented to the Laureates at ceremonies on December 10, the anniversary of Alfred Nobel's death.

Satyarthi is eighth Indian to have received this award.

Let's have look at other seven Indians who made India proud by winning this award.

Rabindranath Tagore,1913

Rabindranath Tagore was a popular poet and writer. He was awarded Nobel Prize for Literature in 1913 for "Geetanjali" a collection of his poems.

Chandra Shekar Venkata Raman,1930

Sir CV Raman, an Indian Scientist. He got Nobel Prize of Physics in 1930 for his 'Raman Effect' related to light.

Dr Hargobind Khorana, 1968

Dr Hargobind Khorana was a Doctorate in Chemistry. He was awarded Nobel Prize for Medicine in 1968 for his study of the Human Genetic Code and its role in Protein Synthesis.

Mother Teresa, 1979

Mother Teresa was a Yogoslavian nun who became an Indian citizen. She got Nobel Prize for Peace for her service through her Charitable Mission "Nirmal Hriday" at Calcutta. Her trust works for the people suffering from Leprosy and those dying in destitute.

Dr.Subramanian Chandrashekar, 1983

Dr.Subramanian Chandrashekar, an Indian Astro-Physicist, won Nobel Prize for Physics in 1983 for his theory on white dwarf stars' limitation known as ‘Chandrasekhar Limit'. He is the son of the elder brother of the Sir C.V.Raman.

Amartya Sen, 1998

Dr Amartya Sen, an Indian Professor in Economics was awarded Nobel Prize for Economics in 1998 for his work in Economic Theory related to Poverty, Democracy, Development and Social Welfare.

Dr.Venkataraman Ramakrishnan, 2009

Dr.Venkataraman Ramakrishnan is an Indo-American. He shared Nobel Prize for Chemistry for the year 2009, along with a co-American Thomas Steitz and Ada Yonath of Israel for mapping ribosomes.

Kailash Satyarthi, 2014

India's Child rights activist has been given "Nobel Prize For Peace" for the year 2014. He has shared the prize with Pakistan's activist Malala Yousafzai.

Please Wait while comments are loading...