G7 summit 2015 starts in Germany: All you need to know about it

Subscribe to Oneindia News

The annual summit of the Group of Seven (G7) industrialized countries kicked off on Sunday in the German resort town of Garmisch-Partenkirchen. Russia has been excluded from what was previously known as the G8, since the annexation of Crimea last year.

Below are the facts need to know related to G7

  • France, West Germany, Italy, Japan, the United Kingdom, and the United States (US) formed the Group of Six in 1975.
  • The first summit took place on 15-17 November 1975, in Rambouillet, France.
G7 summit explained
  • Canada joined the group following year.
  • US, Canada France, Germany, Italy, Japan, and the United Kingdom meet annually to discuss issues such as global economic governance, international security, and energy policy.
  • Russia joined the group in 1997 but was shut out last year due to the Ukraine crisis.
  • Russia held the G8 presidency for the first time in 2006 and once again in 2014.
  • The European Union has participated fully in the G7 since 1981 as a "nonenumerated" member.
  • There is no formal criteria for membership, but participants are all developed democracies.
  • The aggregate GDP of G7 member states makes up nearly 50 percent of the global economy.
  • Unlike the United Nations or NATO, the G7 is not a formal institution with a charter and a secretariat.
Please Wait while comments are loading...