Don't miss! 9 hot constituencies to look at in Delhi battlefield

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

With the filing of nomination papers by 953 candidates, the battle in Delhi Assembly election has intensified. The 1.30 crore voters in the national capital will see some hectic poll campaigning by candidates as the D-Day approaches.

As the battle in Delhi is going to be a three-sided contest between Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Indian National Congress (INC), all eyes will be on BJP and AAP as the two parties are giving neck to neck fight to each other.

Nine 'hot seats' in Delhi polls
The Congress, on the other hand, is still facing a credibility crisis and is looking a distant third in the battle of supremacy between rivals BJP and AAP. Nevertheless, the party which has ruled Delhi for 15-long years will dent BJP as well as AAP's votes and try to improve its previous figure of 8 seats.

Just days before closing of nomination in the poll bound national capital, the BJP played a masterstroke by inducting former IPS officer Kiran Bedi and went on declaring her as party's CM candidate. BJP's aim was clear: Dent AAP/Kejriwal's credibility. AAP, which formed a 49-day government in the capital state, is once again relying over its convener and most popular leader Arvind Kejriwal.

While Congress has given the party's reins in Delhi in the able hands of Ajay Maken but hasn't declared a CM candidate. The Congress is not only facing a credibility crisis here but also looking a distant third in battle with rivals AAP and BJP.

Also read: [Delhi Assembly elections 2015]

As the parties are intensifying their battle for supremacy in the most crucial election of the year OneIndia takes a look at some of the most high-profile constituencies in the state to understand which party has an edge over the other and what are the ground realities.

New Delhi: It is one of the most high-profile constituency in the state. Being home to country's most high-profile and influential people in the capital, it also happens to be the battle field of 'mufflerman' Arvind Kejriwal, who also happens to be one of the most popular candidate in the poll fray. Arvind Kejiwal, became an overnight star after he defeated the incumbent Chief Minister of Delhi Shiela Dikshit in 2013 polls by a whopping margin of 25,000 votes. This time he'll face challenges from opponents like senior Congress leader Kiran Walia and BJP's newbie Nupur Sharma, who's contesting for the first time.

Krishna Nagar: After BJP announced fielding its trump card Kiran Bedi from this seat, it will be second most sought constituency to look after. Considered to be one of the safest seat in the 70-member assembly which was represented by Harsh Vardhan, BJP's CM candidate in the 2013 polls, 5 times. Bedi will battle against Congress's Bansi Lal and AAP's SK Bagga, which is likely to be a smooth sailing for BJP's CM candidate.

Sadar Bazar: Congress' election campaign chief, Ajay Maken, will try his luck in Delhi Assembly election from this constituency. It is home to largest wholesale market in the capital city was a long time Congress bastion until AAP's Som Dutt Sharma won from this seat. Som Dutt has once again been fielded by AAP to repeat history. While BJP has fielded Praveen Jain from here.

Arvind Kejriwal

It also fell under Chandni Chowk Parliamentary constituency, which once happened to be stronghold of Congress strongman Kapil Sibal that he lost to BJP's Harsh Vardhan in the 2014 Lok Sabha polls. Hence, it will be interesting to see if BJP's Praveen Jain gives a challenge to her opponents from Congress and AAP.

Malviya Nagar: This south Delhi constituency is going to witness a tough contest between Congress' Yoganand Shastri and AAP's Somnath Bharti. Bharti as well as Shastri have been ministers when their parties were in power. But Bharti, a lawyer by profession, enjoys a good fan following the area despite facing massive criticism for his police action in Khirki extension on suspicions of a prostitution racket. BJP has given ticket to a woman candidate Nandani Sharma to woo the female voters in the assembly hoping women in the area are still angry with Bharti's 'shameful action' against women.

Greater Kailash: It is country's richest Assembly constituency, considering the financial condition of the voters in Delhi's most posh area. Battle here is mainly between Sharmistha Mukherjee, daughter of President Pranab Mukherjee, and AAP's Saurabh Bhardwaj, transport minister in the 49-day Kejriwal government. Sharmistha is making her political debut on Congress' ticket. The BJP has fielded Rakesh Gulia from here.

Janakpuri: It is the backyard of BJP stalwart Jagdish Mukhi, whom AAP was once calling the BJP's CM candidate. The constituency is going to see an interesting intra-family battle between Mukhi and his son-in-law Suresh Kumar, contesting on a Congress ticket. Despite facing a challenge from his family member the BJP heavyweight is still considered to the favourite for he has won this seat 7 times back to back. AAP has fielded Rajesh Rishi from here.

Matia Mahal: This constituency has a fairly large minority community hence every party here has fielded Muslim candidates. BJP has fielded former AAP leader Shakeel Anjum Dehlvi, who joined the party only last week after his party denied him a ticket. Dehlvi stood third in the previous polls hence AAP fielded Asim Ahmed Khan from here. Congress has fielded Shoib Iqbal who was an Independent MLA from this seat.

Kiran Bedi campaigning

Patel Nagar: Since, this west Delhi constituency has large number of slum dwellers and Dalits. Hence, the BJP has fielded a popular Dalit face Krishna Tirath, who jumped Congress ship to join the BJP last week, from this reserved constituency. AAP's Hazari Lal Chauhan and Congress's Rajesh Lilothia will be challenging Tirath, a former Union Minister and MP from Congress.

Patparganj: It will be battle AAP vs AAP in this assembly constituency as Manish Sisodia, MLA from here, will be facing a challenge from his former party colleague Vinod Kumar Binny, who is now contesting on a BJP ticket. By fielding Binny, an MLA from Laxmi Nagar seat, the BJP wants to jolt the virtual number two in AAP.

Please Wait while comments are loading...