Bypolls 2016 Results: BJP wins Congress strongholds in MP, Karnataka

Subscribe to Oneindia News

By-polls were held in the states of Maharashtra, Karnataka, Bihar, Punjab, Uttar Pradesh and Madhya Pradesh on the 13th of February 2016. Counting of the votes began today at 8 am. The results have been a mixed bag for all the contesting political parties.

Maharashtra by-poll results:

Shiv Sena candidate Amit Ghoda won Palghar seat by defeating Congress nominee Rajendra Gavit (a former Maharashtra minister) by a margin of 18,948 votes. It was an ST seat.


The by election was held following the death of sitting Shiv Sena MLA Krishna Arjun Ghoda in May last year following a heart attack. His son was given ticket by Shiv Sena for the by election.

Karnataka by-poll results:

For three assembly seats by-polls were held in Karnataka. Of the three seats that went to polls BJP had held Hebbal and Bidar while Congress was holding Devadurga seat. Post the elections BJP got Hebbal and Devadurga while Congress won Bidar seat.

Hebbal seat had witnessed drama over Sonia Gandhi not approving Chief Minister Siddaramaiah's choice of candidate and replacing him with Rahman Shariff. For Hebbal seat JD(S) candidate Ismail Sharieff was also in fray.

Bihar by-poll results:

Harlakhi, Bihar's seat was won by NDA candidate from Rashtriya Lok Samta Party (RLSP) Sudhanshu Shekhar by around 18,000 votes. The by-poll in Harlakhi Assembly was held following the death of RLSP MLA Basant Kumar. Nine candidates were contesting for the Harlakhi assembly constituency.

Punjab by-polls results:

Khadoor Sahib, Punjab seat was won by Shiromani Akali Dal's Ravinder Singh Brahmpura. He defeated his nearest rival Independent candidate Bhupinder Singh by a margin of 65,664 votes.

Bhupinder Singh had broken away from Congress. Interestingly Congress as well as AAP had not contested for this assembly seat. The by-poll had to be held after Congress MLA Ramanjit Singh Sikki resigned following sacrilege of Guru Granth Sahib last year. For contesting this election as an Independent candidate Sumel Singh Sidhu had resigned from AAP. He however, could only get 2,243 votes.

Uttar Pradesh by-polls results:

On Bikapur seat in UP Samajwadi Party's Anand Sen Yadav has won. However, riot hit Muzaffarnagar seat was won by BJP's Kapil Deo Agarwal.

Deoband, Uttar Pradesh seat was won by Congress candidate Mavia Ali by a margin of 3,400 votes.

Madhya Pradesh by-polls results:

BJP candidate Narayan Tripathi won Maihar assembly set in by-poll by defeating his nearest Congress rival Manish Patel. Madhya Pradesh's Maihar seat was said to be Congress strong hold which they didn't lose even during 2013 election when there was a strong BJP wave.

The by-poll was held after Tripathi who was then Congress MLA from Maihar, resigned from his post and party and then joined BJP.

Telangana by-polls results:

Medak district, Hyderabad seat was won by TRS by a margin of 53,600 votes. Bhupal Reddy won the by-poll by defeating his closet rival Congress candidate Sanjeeva Reddy.

Tripura by-polls results:

Amarpur, Tripura's seat was won by Parimal Debnath of CPI(M) by 20,355 votes, BJP was on second position.

Please Wait while comments are loading...