BJP Leaders Jubilant ahead of National Executive Meet

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

The mood among BJP's top leaders is very jubilant after the Rajya Sabha election results were declared. The elections were held for 27 Rajya Sabha seats in seven states. BJP won 12 seats of the 27 for which election was held.

In jubilant mood BJP began its two-day National Executive Meet in Allahabad, Uttar Pradesh. Big hoardings, banners and posters of BJP leaders dot every corner of Allahabad.
Many leaders are vying for prominence in those hoardings but the main aim is clear and it is to get a clear majority for the party in the 2017 Assembly Elections.


Agenda for the meet:

This meeting is where BJP is expected to make significant announcements regarding the UP election.

This meeting is important as it follows assembly elections 2016 where BJP attained historic win in Assam and formed a government there. BJP could also win a seat in Kerala and increase its vote share significantly in West Bengal.

It is expected that party will try to expand its base in many states Andhra, Telangana, Tamil Nadu, Odisha and also the north eastern states which are not considered predominantly BJP's strongholds.

BJP will also want to promote the Vikas Parv which is being celebrated to make two year of completion in power by Narendra Modi government.

Also BJP will try to talk about successful five nation tour that Mr. Modi recently completed. Mr. Modi had toured Afghanistan, Qatar, Switzerland, the US and Mexico in five days.

On top of agenda also will be Mathura incident which has allowed BJP to gain some space by challenging the Samajwadi Party government.

Most important thing on agenda of BJP will be to instil confidence of party workers in BJP and ensure that they work for the upcoming election knowing very well that the party is going to be in power for a long time and change political landscape in India.

Big winners for BJP are:

Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi and Mahesh Poddar from Jharkhand;

Union Minister of State for Commerce and Industry Nirmala Sitharaman won from Karnataka;
M.J. Akbar and Anil Dave won from Madhya Pradesh;

Union Minister M. Venkaiah Naidu, former RBI official Ram Kumar Sharma; Harsh Vardhan Singh, a member of the erstwhile Dungarpur royal family, party Vice President Om Prakash Mathur won from Rajasthan;

Birender Singh and Subhas Chandra won from Haryana; and

Shiv Pratap Shukla from Uttar Pradesh won their seats.

This victory reduces the margin between Congress and BJP MPs in Rajya Sabha to just three.

Please Wait while comments are loading...