(Pics) Bihar Assembly Elections 2015: Know about heavyweight politicians of Bihar

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bihar assembly elections 2015 are spread across five phases. The 16th assembly polls in the state will begin on Oct 12, followed by 2nd phase polls on Oct 16, 3rd phase polls on Oct 28, 4th phase polls on Nov 1 and final phase polls on Nov 5.

Counting of votes and results will be announced on Nov 8, Sunday.

As the battleground of power for Bihar assembly elections 2015 is all set, let's take a look at heavyweight politicians of the poll-bound state.

Nitish Kumar, JD(U) Chief

22nd Bihar Chief Minister and Janata Dal United Chief Nitish Kumar, who has ruled the state from last 10 years, is all set to face one of the most challenging phase of political career in the upcoming elections.

Although he is not contesting the polls, but despite several setbacks, Nitish is quite confident about achieving the hattrick.

Lalu Prasad Yadav, RJD

Rashtriya Janata Dal Chief Lalu Prasad Yadav has seen it all in politics. The cornered Lalu, who has a tainted image with a dent of fodder scam, is trying hard to revive his fortunes in mainstream Bihar politics.

To try his luck in the upcoming polls, he has tied up with his former arch rival Nitish Kumar and Congress.


Jitan Ram Manjhi, HAM

Hindustani Awam Morcha (HAM) president JItan Ram Manjhi has turned around the political equations of Bihar. Former loyal and blue-eyed boy of Nitish Kumar, now Manjhi has thrown a challenge to other veterans, by forming his own party.

However, at present he is keeping BJP and other main party on tenterhooks, regarding the tie-up.

Manjhi is lobbying hard to convince BJP to let his party contest on 40 seats. At the same time, he is learnt to have sent one of his aides to meet with RJD leader, Lalu Prasad Yadav. He wants BJP to contest on 122 seats only.


Ram Vilas Paswan, LJP

Lok Janshakti Party chief Ram Vilas Paswan is in a safe boat, as he had formed an alliance with the NDA during 2014 Lok Sabha elections.

He is presently the Food and Consumer Affairs Minister in the NDA government.

BJP leader Shatrughan Sinha has even recommended his name for the chief ministerial post, however, he has ruled out his being in the race for NDA's chief ministerial candidate.

Paswan is quite confident that BJP will be the ultimate winner in the upcoming Bihar elections.





Please Wait while comments are loading...