Assembly polls: Dynasty politics rules the roost despite Modi's appeal

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News
BJP leader Pankaja Munde
The Assembly polls in Haryana and Maharashtra brought in mixed results for the political dynasties in these two States. Though, the BJP may have emerged as the leading party in both the States routing the Congress, Sunday's results brought in mixed bag for the political dynasties.

These big political families are very much alive and have done well in the recently concluded Assembly elections, despite the fact that Prime Minister Narendra Modi during his campaigning had urged the voters to put an end to the dynasty politics."We have to free Maharashtra of dynastic politics. The people of this country have trust in democracy, which is why they voted for an ordinary man like me," said Prime Minister Modi addressing a rally in Maharashtra.


In Haryana, prominently known as a bastion of political families like the Lals, Chautalas and Bishnois barring a few mostly all the young brigade who chose to follow their patrons have sailed through smoothly.

Two generations of the Chautala family were trying their luck in the Assembly polls. While, senior Congress leader Abhay Singh Chautala won from Ellenabad, his nephew and party MP Dushyant Chautala lost the polls from Uchana Kalan.

Also, Chautala's wife Naina who is the first family to enter the fray in her family won the Dabwali seat by 68029 votes. The Chautala family head and INLD chief OP Chautala is in Tihar jail in connection with JBT scam, though he campaigned for the party while he was out of bail on medical grounds.
While, Bhajan Lal's son and Haryana Janhit Party leader Kuldeep Bishnoi won from Adampur and his wife Renuka Bishnoi won from Hansi in Hisar district. Though, Bhajan Lal's elder son and former deputy Chief Minister Chander Mohan lost the Nalwa Assembly seat.
From the family of Bansi Lal, his son Ranbir Singh Mahendra lost from the Badhra Assembly seat while his daughter-in-law Kiran Chaudhary retained her Tosham seat.


Among the prominent winners are daughter of late Gopinath Munde, Pankaja Munde who won from Parli constituency.
Many members of NCP's first family were also trying their luck in the Assembly polls. Party chief Sharad Pawar's nephew and former deputy Chief Minister Ajit Pawar won the Baramati seat by 1.35 lakh votes. The other prominent Bhujbals too won their respective seats. While senior NCP leader Chhagan Bhujbal was contesting from Yevla, his son Pankaj won from Nandgaon constituency.

Moreover, daughter of former Home Minister SushilKumar Shinde, Praniti Shinde won from Solapur and son of late Vilasrao Deshmukh managed to get Latur seat. Senior Congress leader Narayan Rane might not have lost his seat but his son Nitesh Rane managed to get Kankavli.

Please Wait while comments are loading...