Ups and downs of assembly polls: 9 candidates who left everyone 'shocked'

Subscribe to Oneindia News
Savitri Jindal
The historic Maharashtra and Haryana assembly poll results also brought major upsets with them. In a shock to several influential candidates, who were poised to win from their respective constituencies, suffered a humiliating defeat due to Modi wave, anti-incumbency, corruption. Here are a few candidates from Maharashtra and  Haryana who shocked everyone.

In Haryana many lost despite Modi wave and many big names who were expected to win shocked everyone with their loss.

Savitri Jindal

Savitri Jindal, the richest woman in the country, lost from the Hisar assembly seat. Jindal, who was elected from Hisar in 2005 and 2009 and is a minister in the outgoing Bhupinder Singh Hooda-led Congress government in the state, lost to BJP candidate Kamal Gupta by 13,646 votes. Jindal, who is the mother of billionaire industrialist-cum-politician Naveen Jindal, trailed during counting. She was the Congress candidate on the Hisar seat.

Dushyant Chautala

BJP candidate Prem Lata defeated Dushyant Chautala, the grand son of Indian National Lok Dal chief Om Prakash Chautala by a margin of 7,480 votes in Uchana Kalan. Dushyant is an incumbent MP from Hissar Parliamentary seat and defeated HJC (BL) chief Kuldeep Bishnoi in the 2014 Lok Sabha poll. Dushyant also happens to be the youngest Member of Parliament in the history of Indian politics.

Chandra Mohan

Chander Mohan, the former Deputy Chief Minister of Haryana is son of Bhajan Lal and brother of HJC president Kuldeep Bishnoi. He lost by 7115 votes to an INLD candidate Ranbir Gangwa.

Vandana Sharma

Sushma Swaraj's sister Vanadana Sharma who contested from Haryana's Safidon constituency in the Jind district lost to an Independent Jasbir Deswal. Despite Modi factor, BJP could not make it a win in this constituency.

From Maharashtra these candidates surprised everyone with their defeat in the elections.

Baba Siddique

Siddique, the sitting Congress MLA from Bandra West, has represented the constituency for 15 years. But this time it seems Modi wave and the anti-incumbency factor against Congress made him lose and Ashish Shelar from BJP won by a large margin of 26,911 votes.
Siddique served as a Municipal Cooperator for 2 consecutive terms (1992-1997) and was MLA for 3 consecutive terms in 1999, 2004 and 2009.

Ghosalkar Vinod Ramchandra

Sitting Shiv Sena MLA from Dahisar, Ghosalkar Vinod Ramchandra was defeated by BJP's Manisha Chaudary, a corporator, by a margin of 38,578 votes. He had been out on bail after being charged with assault.

Suresh Shetty

Former Health Minister Suresh Shetty (Congress) who contested for the fourth term came a poor third in Andheri East as Ramesh Latke of Shiv Sena won the seat polling 52,817 votes, followed by Sunil Yadav of BJP. Anti-incumbency seems to have worked against Shetty.

Nitin Sardesai

Probably the most popular face of MNS in Mumbai, and a close confidante of Raj Thackeray could not keep the party's flag's over their most prestigious marathi neighbourhood of Mahim's Shivaji Park, after he failed against Shiv Sena veteran Sadanana Sarvankar.

Subhash Desa 

Sitting Shiv Sena MLA from Goregaon lost to BJP's Vidya Thakur by a margin of 4,756 votes. He is said to be a Thackeray family loyalist and has been associated with the Shiv Sena for 30 years now.

Please Wait while comments are loading...