Know your state this LS poll: Uttarakhand

Subscribe to Oneindia News
Dehradun, March 30: The Lok sabha election is set to begin on April 7 and will continue till May 12. The results will be declared on May 16. The election will see elections to 543 parliamentary seats across 28 states and seven Union territories (UT).

OneIndia brings to you the poll statistics from each state and UT of the Union.


Election date: May 7

[Know your state this LS poll]

Number of Lok Sabha constituencies: 5

Name of parliamentary constituencies: Tehri Garhwal, Garhwal, Almora (SC), Nainital-Udhamsingh Nagar, Haridwar

2009 result (seats): Congress- 5, BJP- 0

2009 party-wise vote-share:

Total voters this year: 6,786,394

Polling booths: Over 6,819

First-time voters: 1,61,512

Fact: Uttarakhand Chief Minister Harish Rawat recently described Congress as a "temple". He said, "We have to see the temple, its idols and not the priest because they keep changing. Whoever does a good job will remain."

On March 21, the Congress party's senior leader and an MP from Pauri Garhwal, 62-year-old Satpal Maharaj joined BJP in the presence of party's president Rajnath Singh at the party headquarters in New Delhi and assured the support of ten MLAs, thus changing the political equation of the hilly state.

However, his wife Amrita Rawat has reaffirmed her loyalty to Congress and has described herself as a "dedicated Congress worker".

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...