TN Poll 2016: DMDK chief Vijayakanth to contest from Ulundurpet

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Chennai, April 19: DMDK Chief Vijayakanth is all set to contest from Ulundurpet constituency in Villupuram district in the upcoming assembly election on Monday, May 16.

Chief Ministerial candidate of the DMDK-PWF front, Vijayakanth will be fighting from a new constituency for the third time.

[Special Coverage: Assembly Elections 2016]


After founding the DMDK in 2005, the actor-turned-politician contested for the first time from Vridhachalam constituency in Cuddalore district in 2006. [DMDK's bizarre poll promises surprise many]

In 2011, he contested from Rishivandiyam constituency Viluppuram district. Both the time, he won in both elections. [Vijaykanth, Vaiko, Vasan---Will PWF's three 'V's make any impact?]

Under DMDK-PWF-TMC alliance, it is contesting on 104 seats and has named candidates for all seats, with Vijaykanth as the alliance's chief ministerial candidate.

The DMDK is contesting this year's election as part of an alliance with the People's Welfare front and Tamil Maanila Congress. Apart from DMDK'S 104 seats, the rest is shared by other constituents of PWF--MDMK, CPI(M), CPI, TMC and VCK. There are 234 assembly segments in Tamil Nadu.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...