Tamil Nadu polls 2016: GK Vasan not to contest this time

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Chennai, April 20: Tamil Maanila Congress (TMC) chief G K Vasan will not contest the Tamil Nadu Assembly polls on May 16.

Assembly Polls 2016 Full Coverage; Blow for Tamil Maanila Congress before polls

The party on Monday released its list of 26 candidates which includes several former MLAs and a sitting legislator.


gk vasan

Vasan, who quit Congress in November 2014 along with his supporters to revive TMC, has chosen not to contest and his name did not figure in the list of candidates. The former union minister did not contest the 2014 Lok Sabha election either.

Out of the five sitting Congress MLAs, two - S John Jacob (Killiyur) and N R Rengarajan (Pattukottai) - owe "allegiance" to TMC. While John Jacob has been nominated from the same seat, Rengarajan's name did not figure in the list.

Party sources said Rengarajan opted out of contest as TMC could not get Pattukottai seat in seat-sharing from other poll-partners.

The TMC is facing the polls as part of the DMDK-People's Welfare Front and is contesting on 26 seats.

Former MLAs, O R Ramachandran will contest from Cumbum, C Gnanasekaran from Vaniyambadi, A S Maheswari from Madathukulam, and M Rajasekaran from Musiri. Former Member of Parliament R Devadoss will try his luck from Salem North.

In Chennai, Biju Chacko will fight from Royapuram and A S Munavar Batcha from Mylapore.


Please Wait while comments are loading...