Tamil Nadu polls 2016: Congress to contest in 41 seats

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Chennai, April 4: After hectic parleys, the DMK and the Congress on Monday, April 4 finalised their seat-sharing for the May 16 single-phase Tamil Nadu Assembly polls. The Congress will contest on 41 seats of the 234 assembly constituencies.

[Know your state-- Tamil Nadu]

tamil nadu assembly elections 2016

The deal was finalised on Monday morning during a meeting between DMK chief M Karunanidhi and Congress leaders Ghulam Nabi Azad and Mukul Wasnik at the former's residence in Gopalapuram.

After the meeting was over, Azad confirmed reporters that Congress will contest in 41 seats. The DMk had earlier offered 33 seats to the Congress through the latter had sought 63 seats, the number of seats it had contested in 2011.

Azad also said that he was confident that Karunanidhi will be able to form a government in the state after the May 16 election.

DMK treasurer M K Stalin added that the DMK-led alliance was confident of winning the elections "as people want a change".


As the seat-sharing deal between the two parties concluded in the second round of talks, now the parties in the DMK alliance will have to decide the constituencies each of them will contest.

Besides the Congress, DMK's other allies like MMK and Indian Union Muslim League (IUML) will contest on five seats each and SSP will contest from one seat.

OneIndia News 

Please Wait while comments are loading...