AIADMK chief Jayalalitha's hands full with election campaign

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News
Chennai, March 11: As the Lok Sabha elections approach, AIADMK chief and Tamil Nadu chief minister Jayalalitha has stepped on gas to campaign across the state. She has a busy schedule ahead of her in the month of March when she is likely to campaign for the party candidates for the by-elections too.

She has started campaigning since March 3 from Kancheepuram and is likely to wind up her schedule on April 21 in South Chennai. The very same day she is likely to campaign for the party candidate for the by-election to Alandur Assembly constituency.

Campaign schedule

Chidambaram (SC) (March 11)
Erode and Tirupur (March 13)
Tuticorin (March 15)
Kallakurichi (March 16)
Tiruvannamalai (March 18)
Tenkasi (SC) (March 19)
Virudhunagar and Sivaganga (March 21)
Cuddalore and Villupuram (SC) (March 23)
Dindigul and Theni ( March 25)
Madurai (March 28)
Ramanathapuram (March 29)
Puducherry (April 1)
Namakkal and Salem (April 3)
Thanjavur and Tiruchy (April 5)
Pollachi and Coimbatore (April 8)
Nilgiris (SC) (April 10)
Tirunelveli (April 11)
Karur and Perambalur (April 13)
Arni and Vellore (April 15)
Krishnagiri and Dharmapuri (April 17)
Arakkonam and Tiruvallur (SC) - (April 19)
Central Chennai and North Chennai (April 20)
South Chennai and Alandur (April 21).

Her Star Power

Jayalalitha is banking on her star power for the assembly and the Lok Sabha elections. Some of the dignitaries who support her include Professor Dheeran, K Jegaveerapandiyan, AS Ebrahim Rawther, film producer and erstwhile friend of DMDK founder Vijaykanth, actors Saravanan, Thiyagu, Vaiyapuri, Jeyagovindan, Baalu Anand, AK Rajendran, Jeyasuriyagandhiji and MS Arulmani, film directors RV Udhayakumar, Liakath Ali Khan and V Jeyaprakash, comedienne K Vasuki, G Velmurugan, Professor Sridhar Narayanan and Villupuram Selvaraj.

These celebrities will start campaigning in her support from March 12.

Support of parties

Apart from the star power, Jayalalitha has the support of various people's party like the Indian Peasants Party's State president Vettavalam K Manikandan and other office-bearers, Pasumpon Desiya Kazhagam president N Jothi Muthuramalinga Thevar, Maaveeran Dheeran Chinnamalai Peravai general secretary Kongu M Rajamani and Thamizhaga Vivasayigal Sangam president NS Palanisamy.

Some of the other parties that have offered their support include Christian and Muslim organisations, Madurai Adheenam Arunagirinatha Swamigal and many more.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...