22 States/UTs implementing Pradhan Mantri Fasal Bima Yojana

Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, July 26: As many as 22 States and Union Territories are in the process of implementing the Pradhan Mantri Fasal Bima Yojana (PMFBY), a scheme launched by the Centre recently, Agriculture Minister Radha Mohan Singh said in Lok Sabha on Tuesday.

Singh said the PMFBY has been approved for implementation in all states and UTs from Kharif 2016 season and the scheme is voluntary for states and UTs.

22 States/UTs to implement PMFBY

"Government has been engaging the states/UTs for implementation of the scheme for benefit of the farmers of the states/UTs," he said during Question Hour.

Besides, detailed guidelines for implementation of the schemes to all stakeholders, including state governments, all the requisite assistance and clarifications have been provided to the states and UTs to prepare clusters, tender documents and finalisation of implementing insurance companies, he said.

"So far, 21 states and 1 UT have completed the tendering process for selection of insurance companies for implementing PMFBY and restructured weather based crop insurance scheme during kharif 2016 season. Tendering in Jammu and Kashmir is underway," he said.

Out of these 22 states and UTs, 19 states and UTs have already issued the notification for implementation of the scheme in Kharif 2016, he said.


Please Wait while comments are loading...