Top contests of 2014: HD Kumaraswamy v/s Veerappa Moily in Karnataka

Subscribe to Oneindia News
Kumaraswamy v/s Veerappa Moily
Chikkaballapur, April 1: Chikkaballapur is a very interesting constituency in Karnataka this election as the top notch politicians like Veerappa Moily and former Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy are contesting from this place.

Chikkaballapur has been under the domain of Congress party since 1998. It would be interesting to see the result of this Lok Sabha election as prominent faces are contesting from this seat.

[Top contests of Lok Sabha elections 2014]

2009 results: Prominent Congress leader M. Veerappa Moily won the Chikkaballapur seat in 2009 with 390,500 votes and defeated BJP's C. Aswathanarayana who got 339,119. The win was marginal but Congress managed to not let the seat slip away.

[Know your state this LS poll: Karnataka]

Chikkaballapur will got to polls in April 17.

About HD Kumaraswamy (JDS)

Kumaraswamy, also known as Kumaranna, is presently the President of Janata Dal (Secular) party. He was Chief Minister of Karnataka, from February 4, 2006 to October 9, 2007.

Kumaraswamy has not been stagnantly associated with any particular. There have always been rumours of him sometimes joining hands with Congress and sometimes with the BJP. He is seeking to gain hold in a territory where voters from the Vokkaliga community from which he hails number about two lakh out of 16 lakh voters. 

Kumaraswamy, son of former Prime Minister and JDS chief H D Deve Gowda, had quit as MP of Bangalore Rural after winning from Ramanagaram in the Assembly polls. In the bypoll, his wife Anita Kumaraswamy was humbled by Congress' D K Suresh, brother of his bitter foe minister D K Shivakumar.

About M. Veerappa Moily (Congress)

Presently the Minister of Petroleum and Natural Gas, Veerappa Moily has been winning the Chikkaballapur constituency seat from Congress ticket for two consecutive terms. Moily has been the Chief Minister of Karnataka from 19 November, 1992 to 11 December 1994.

Moily had comfortably taken on a weak opponent in BJP's C Ashwathanarayana in the 2009 polls. He pulled off a victory by a margin of nearly 51,000 votes.

Referring to his rival Vokkaliga leaders Gowda and Kumaraswamy, Moily said people in the constituency have not voted on caste basis, which was reflected in his victory in 2009 general elections, though he hailed from the coastal belt of the state.

About B. N. Bachhegouda (BJP)

Bachhegouda entered politics in the seventies and got elected to the Karnataka Legislative Assembly in 1978, 1985, 1994 and 2008. He was the Minister for Animal Husbandry in 1994, Urban development in 1996 and Labour Portfolio in 2008.

He lost against M.T.B.Nagaraj of Congress by margin of 7139 Votes in Hosakote constituency in Karnataka Assembly Election 2013.

About K. Arkesh (AAP)

Arkesh is the  former DIG of the CRPF, also known as the hunter of brigand and ivory-smuggler Veerappan. He led the effort to release Karnataka 's hero Dr.Rajkumar from the captivity of the dreaded bandit.


Kumaraswamy's entry has made the battle tough for Moily, who had comfortably taken on a weak opponent in BJP's C Ashwathanarayana in the 2009 polls. It will be interesting to see how people respond to two former Karnataka Chief Ministers battling in this constituency.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...