These chief ministers will not forget 2014 (In pics)

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bangalore, Sept 27: The year 2014 will be a memorable day for a number of chief ministers, both for good and bad reasons. While some left the high post after finding the going tough, some others felt compelled to quit owing to political reasons. There were also others who left the post after being rewarded by the democracy.

Here is a look at those chief ministers who had a memorable 2014.

Arvind Kejriwal, former chief minister of Delhi

Kejriwal, who came to power with a lot of hope, quit after 49 days in power on February 14, 2014. He and his party, the Aam Aadmi Party, could not get their Janlokpal Bill passed and blamed the 'system'.

Nitish Kumar, former chief minister of Bihar

The JD(U) leader quit the chief minister's post on May 17, 2014, after a poor performance in the Lok Sabha election. He installed a representative of an extremely backward caste in the CM's post to prove some political points.

Kiran Kumar Reddy, former chief minister of Andhra Pradesh

N Kiran Kumar Reddy, the last chief minister of united Andhra Pradesh, quit the post and also his party, the Congress, in February to protest the bifurcation of the state to form the new state of Telangana. Reddy formed his Jai Samaikyandhra Party later.

Narendra Modi, former chief minister of Gujarat

Modi quit as the chief minister of Gujarat on May 22, 2014, to become the 15th prime minister of India four days later.

J Jayalalithaa, former chief minister of Tamil Nadu

Jayalalithaa lost the chief ministership of Tamil Nadu after a special court in Bangalore convicted her in connection to a 18-year-old disproportionate assets case on September 27, 2014.

Prithviraj Chavan, former chief minister of Maharashtra

Prithviraj Chavan quit as the chief minister on September 26, 2014, after the ruling alliance of the Congress and the Nationalist Congress Party got split ahead of the October 15 assembly poll.

Oneindia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...