Phase 8 of Lok Sabha election 2014 today

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News
Bangalore, May 6: Sixty-four constituencies will go to the polls on Wednesday when the seventh phase of the Lok Sabha election 2014 will be held.

While 25 constituencies in Seemandhra will go to the election in this phase, 15 constituencies in Uttar Pradesh, seven in Bihar, six in West Bengal, five in Uttarakhand, four in Himachal Pradesh and two in Jammu and Kashmir will also elect their Lok Sabha representatives to the 16th Lok Sabha.

[Read Seemandhra results in 2009]

[Read 2009 results in WB, Bihar, Himachal, J&K]

[Read 2009 results in UP, Uttarakhand]

A total of 95.5 million voters will cast their ballots in this phase to elect from 997 candidates. Seventy-nine women candidates are in the fray in this phase.

A number of high-profile candidates are in the fray in this phase. Congress vice-president Rahul Gandhi will take on BJP's Smriti Irani and Aam Aadmi Party's Kumar Vishwas from Amethi while his cousin and BJP MP Varun Gandhi will take on Congress's Amita Singh from Sultanpur constituency.

In Seemandhra, 175 assembly constituencies will also go to the election on Wednesday.

Oneindia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...