Looking back at Indian politicians' first tweets

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bangalore, March 27: Social media is an important part of India's political life today. Several battles between political opponents are fought on social media sites like Twitter everyday and the interesting part is that even the common man takes direct part in these battles.

We have a number of important leaders who are on Twitter. We expect to see more intense battle shaping up between them on this micro-blogging site. Oneindia takes a look back at the first ever tweet posted by these politicians.

Modi is contesting from Varanasi (UP) and Vadodara (Guj) seats in LS poll 2014

Modi joined Twitter in February 2009.

Rajnath Singh contesting from Lucknow constituency in LS poll 2014

Rajnath Singh joined Twitter in April 2013.

Nitish Kumar is the chief minister of Bihar.

Nitish Kumar joined Twitter in May 2010.

Dereck O'Brien is a Rajya Sabha MP.

Dereck O'Brien joined Twitter in March 2010.

BSY will contest from Shimoga in Karnataka in LS poll 2014

BSY joined Twitter in February 2014.

Digvijay Singh is Congress General Secretary and may be fielded against Modi from Varanasi.

Digvijay Singh joined Twitter in September 2011.

Lalu Prasad came out of jail recently after being convicted in fodder scam.

Lalu Prasad Yadav joined Twitter in January 2014.

Kejriwal's first tweet

Arvind Kejriwal joined Twitter in November 2011.

Shashi Tharoor is contesting from Thiruvananthapuram in Kerala in LS poll 2014

Shashi Tharoor joined Twitter in March 2009.

Arun Jaitley is contesting from Amritsar in Punjab in 2014 LS poll

Jaitley joined Twitter in December 2013.

Sushma Swaraj is contesting from Vidisha in MP in LS poll 2014

Sushma Swaraj joined Twitter in November 2010.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...