Lok Sabha poll 2014: Know about constituencies of Phase 8 (May 7)

Subscribe to Oneindia News
Bangalore, May 2: The eighth phase of the nine-phase Lok Sabha election will be held in seven states. Sixty-four seats will go to the polls in this phase. Here is a look at the constituencies in West Bengal, Bihar, Jammu and Kashmir and Himachal Pradesh.

[See 2009 results in UP and Uttarakhand seats going to election on May 7]

[See 2009 results in Seemandhra]


Constituencies: 6

Jhargram (ST): In 2009, CPI(M)'s Pulin Bihari Baske defeated Congress's Amrit Hansda by 2,92,345 votes (difference in vote-share was 30.5%)

Medinipur: In 2009, CPI's Prabodh Panda defeated TMC's Dipak Kumar Ghosh by 48,017 votes (difference in vote-share was 4.6%)

Purulia: In 2009, Forward Bloc's Narahari Mahato defeated Congress's Shantiram Mahato by 19,301 votes (difference in vote-share was 2.1%)

Bankura: In 2009, CPI(M)'s Bausdeb Acharia defeated TMC's Subrata Mukherjee by 107,802 votes (difference in vote-share was 10.9%)

Bishnupur (SC): In 2009, CPI(M)'s Susmita Bauri defeated TMC's Seuli Saha by 1,29,366 votes (difference in vote-share was 12.3%)

Asansol: In 2009, CPI(M)'s Bansa Gopal Chowdhury defeated TMC's Malay Ghotok by 72,956 votes (difference in vote-share was 8.2%)

In 2009, the Left had won all the 6 constituencies that are going to the polls on May 7.

State: BIHAR

Constituencies: 7

Saran: In 2009, RJD's Lalu Prasad defeated BJP's Rajiv Pratap Rudy by 51,815 votes (difference in vote-share was 8.9%)

Hajipur (SC): In 2009, JD(U)'s Ram Sundar Das defeated LJP's Ram Vilas Paswan by 37,954 votes (difference in vote-share was 6.8%)

Ujiarpur: In 2009, JD(U)'s Aswamedh Devi defeated RJD's Alok Kumar Mehta by 25,312 votes (difference in vote-share was 4.5%)

Sheohar: In 2009, BJP's Rama Devi defeated BSP's Md. Anwarul Haque by 1,25,684 votes (difference in vote-share was 21.9%)

Sitamarhi: In 2009, JD(U)'s Arjun Roy defeated Congress's Samir Kumar Mahaseth 110,566 votes (difference in vote-share was 19.2%)

Maharajganj: In 2009, RJD's Uma Shanaker Singh defeated JD(U)'s Prabhu Nath Singh by 2,797 votes (difference in vote-share was 0.5%). The RJD won it later in 2013.

Muzaffarpur: In 2009, JD(U)'s Captain Jai Narayan Prasad Nishad defeated LJP's Bhagwanlal Sahni by 47,809 votes (difference in vote-share was 7.7%)

In 2009, the JD(U) had won 4 of the 7 seats in Bihar going to polls on May 7. The RJD won 2 seats while the BJP won 1 seat.


Constituencies: 2

Baramulla: In 2009, NC's Sharief Ud Din Shariq defeated PDP's Mohammad Dilawar Mir by 64,814 votes (difference in vote-share was 14.7%)

Ladakh: In 2009, Independent Hassan Khan defeated Congress's Phuntsog Namgyal by 3,684 votes (difference in vote-share was 3.3%)


Constituencies: 4

Hamirpur: In 2009, BJP's Anurag Singh Thakur defeated Congress's Narinder Thakur by 72,732 votes (difference in vote-share was 10.4%)

Kangra: In 2009, BJP's Dr Rajan Sushant defeated Congress's Chander Kumar by 20,779 votes (difference in vote-share was 3.1%)

Mandi: In 2009, Congress's Virbhadra Singh defeated BJP's Maheshwar Singh by 13,997 votes (difference in vote-share was 2.0%)

Shimla (SC): In 2009, BJP's Virender Kashyap defeated Congress's Dhani Ram Shandil by 27,327 votes (difference in vote-share was 4.4%)

The BJP had won 3 out of 4 Lok Sabha constituencies in 2009. The Congress had won the remaining one.

Oneindia News

[With inputs from www.indiavotes.com]

[More state to follow]

Please Wait while comments are loading...