Lok Sabha election 2014: Know 2009 results in Punjab & UP

Subscribe to Oneindia News
Bangalore, April 28: Thirteen Lok Sabha seats in Punjab and 14 seats in Uttar Pradesh will go to the election on April 30. What was the result in the state in 2009 in these two states? Here is a look:

[Know 2009 results in Telangana region]

[Know Gujarat results of 2009]

[Know other constituencies going to polls on April 30]

State: Punjab

Constituencies: 13

Gurdaspur: in 2009, Congress's Partap Singh Bajwa defeated BJP's Vinod Khanna by 8,342 votes (difference in vote-share was 0.9%).

Amritsar: In 2009, BJP's Navjot Singh Sidhu defeated Congress's Om Parkash Soni by 6,858 votes (difference in vote-share was 0.8%).

Khadoor Sahib: In 2009, SAD's (Siromani Akali Dal) Dr Rattan Singh Ajnala defeated Congress's Rana Gurjeet Singh by 32,260 votes (difference in vote-share was 3.4%).

Jalandhar (SC): In 2009, Congress's Mohinder Singh Kaypee defeated SAD's Hans Raj Hans by 36,445 votes (difference in vote-share was 4.1%).

Hoshiarpur (SC): In 2009, Congress's Santosh Chowdhary defeated BJP's Som Parkash by 366 votes (difference in vote-share was 0.1%)

Anandpur Sahib: In 2009, Congress's Ravneet Singh defeated SAD's Dr Daljit Singh Cheema by 67,204 votes (difference in vote-share was 7.4%).

Ludhiana: In 2009, Congress's Manish Tewari defeated SAD's Gurcharan Singh Galib by 1,13,706 votes (difference in vote-share was 13.4%).

Fatehgarh Sahib (SC): Congress's Sukhdev Singh defeated SAD's Charanjit Singh Atwal by 34,299 votes (difference in vote-share was 4.1%).

Faridkot (SC): In 2009, SAD's Paramjit Kaur Gulshan defeated Congress's Sukhwinder Singh Danny by 62,042 votes (difference in vote-share was 6.7%).

Ferozpur: In 2009, SAD's Sher Singh Ghubaya defeated Congress's Jagmeet Singh Brar by 21,071 votes (difference in vote-share was 2.2%).

Bhatinda: In 2009, SAD's Harsimrat Kaur Badal defeated Congress's Raninder Singh by 1,20,948 votes (difference in vote-share was 11.5%).

Sangrur: In 2009, Congress's Vijay Inder Singla defeated SAD's Sukhdev Singh Dhindsa by 40,872 votes (difference in vote-share was 4.4%).

Patiala: In 2009, Congress's Preneet Kaur defeated SAD's Prem Singh Chandumajra by 97,389 votes (difference in vote-share was 10.4%).

In 2009, the Congress had won 8 seats, the SAD 4 and BJP 1 seat in Punjab.

[Know your state this LS poll: Punjab]

[Top contests of 2014: Arun Jaitley vs Amarinder Singh]

[Top contests of 2014: Pawan Kumar Bansal vs Gul Panag vs Kirron Kher]

State: Uttar Pradesh

Constituencies: 14

Dhaurahra: In 2009, Congress's Kunwar Jitin Prasad defeated Bahujan Samaj Party's (BSP) Rajesh Kumar by 1,84,509 votes (difference in vote-share was 24.3%).

Sitapur: In 2009, BSP's Kaisar Jahan defeated Samajwadi Party's (SP) Mahendra Singh Verma by 19,632 votes (difference in vote-share was 2.8%).

Hardoi (SC): In 2009, SP's Usha Verma defeated BSP's Ram Kumar Kuril by 92,935 votes (difference in vote-share was 16.2%).

Misrikh (SC): In 2009, BSP's Ashok Kumar Rawat defeated SP's Shyam Prakash by 23,292 votes (difference in vote-share was 3.8%).

Unnao: In 2009, Congress's Annu Tandon defeated BSP's Arun Shankar Shukla by 3,02,092 votes (difference in vote-share was 33.4%).

Mohanlalganj (SC): SP's Sushila Saroj defeated BSP's Jai Prakash by 76,595 votes (difference in vote-share was 11%).

Lucknow: In 2009, BJP's Lalji Tandon defeated Congress's Rita Bahuguna Joshi by 40,901 votes (difference in vote-share was 7%).

Rae Bareli: In 2009, Congress's Sonia Gandhi defeated BSP's RS Kushwaha by 3,72,165 votes (difference in vote-share was 55.8%).

Kanpur: In 2009, Congress's Shriprakash Jaiswal defeated BJP's Satish Mahana by 18,906 votes (difference in vote-share was 3.7%).

Jalaun (SC): In 2009, SP's Ghansyam Anuragi defeated BSP's Tilak Chandra Ahirwar by 11,409 votes (difference in vote-share was 1.4%).

Jhansi: In 2009, Congress's Pradeep Kumar Jain defeated BSP's Ramesh Kumar Sharma by 47,670 votes (difference in vote-share was 5.5%).

Hamirpur: In 2009, BSP's Vijay Bahadur Singh defeated Congress's Siddha Gopal Sahu by 25,502 votes (difference in vote-share was 3.6%).

Banda: In 2009, SP's RK Singh Patel defeated BSP's Bhairon Prasad Mishra by 34,593 votes (difference in vote-share was 5.6%).

Fatehpur: In 2009, SP's Rakesh Sachan defeated BSP's Mahendra Prasad Nishad by 52,228 votes (difference in vote-share was 7.5%).

In 2009, the Congress and SP had won 5 seats each, the BSP 3 and the BJP 1 seat.

[Know your state this LS poll: Uttar Pradesh]

[Top contests odf 2014: Sriprakash Jaiswal vs MM Joshi]

Oneindia News

[With inputs from www.indiavotes.com]

Please Wait while comments are loading...