Know your state this LS poll: Karnataka

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News
Know your state this LS poll: Karnataka
Bangalore, April 1: The Lok sabha election is set to begin on April 7 and will continue till May 12. The results will be declared on May 16. The elections will be held in 543 parliamentary seats across 28 states and seven Union territories (UT).

OneIndia brings to you the poll statistics from each state and UT.

State: Karnataka

Election date: April 17

[Know your states this LS poll]

Number of Lok Sabha constituencies: 28

Name of parliamentary constituencies: Chikkodi, Belgaum, Bagalkot, Bijapur, Gulbarga, Raichur, Bidar, Koppal, Bellary, Haveri, Dharwad, Uttara Kannada, Davanagere, Shimoge, Udupi Chikmagalur, Hassan, Dakshina Kannada, Chitradurga, Tumkur, Mandya, Mysore, Chamrajanagar, Bangalore Rural, Bangalore South, Bangalore Central, Bangalore North, Chikkballapur, Kolar

2009 result (seats): BJP-19, INC-6, JD(S)-3

Total voters this year: Over 4.46 crore voters (over 2.27 crore males, 2.12 crore females)

Polling booths: 54,261

First-time voters: Over 10 lakh

Fact: It will be an interesting battle as a popular face among the youth - Infosys Co-founder Nandan Nilekani is contesting this year from the IT city.

Former Chief Minister and JD(S) chief HD Kumaraswamy will be contesting from Chikkaballapur this year. Karnataka has seen a lot of political changes in the parties this year.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...