Gujarat: State records 62 per cent voter turnout till 6 pm

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Gandhinagar, April 30: All 26 Lok Sabha seats in Gujarat went to the election on Tuesday during the seventh phase. The total of 334 candidates are in the fray of whom 12 are women. Over 40 million voters will cast their ballots in this phase. Seven by-polls also took place in the state during the day. [Know your state: Gujarat]

6.05 pm: State records 62 per cent voter turnout till 6 pm.

5.45 pm: Surat records 54%, Navsari 62%, Valsad 56.9%, Amreli 48.11%, Mehsana 60.84%, Kutch 52.17%, Junagadh 55.95%, Anand 59.95%, Bharuch 61.96%, Dahod 59.2%, Porbandar 43.67%, Rajkot 55.35% till 5 pm.

5.10 pm: Voter turnout recorded at 55 per cent till 5 pm.

4.59 pm: 94-year-old woman passes away after casting vote in Surat.

4.45 pm: Chief Electoral Officer, Gujarat Anita Karwal after polling in Ahmedabad.

4.06 pm: Gujarat surpasses the 2009 election record. Reaches 53 per cent over all till 4 pm.

3.59 pm: At 3 pm, Vadodara 59.53%. Savli 56%, Wghodiya 62%, Vadodara city 57.30%, Raopura 57.65%, Sayajiganj 62.23%, Akota 61.76%, Manjalpur 61.03%.

3.55 pm: Total voter turnout in Gujarat in 2009 was 47.90%. This year till about 3.40 pm, the numbers have crosses 47.11%.

3.46 pm: At 3 pm, Kutch 44.80%, Dahod 47.11%, Valsad 56.93%, Kheda 45.93%, Bhavnagar 43%, Kutch 44.80%, Banaskantha 42.60%, Bardoli 54%.

3.25 pm: Former CM Madhavsinh Solanki casts vote at Borsad, Keshubhai Patel casts at Rajkot.

3.17 pm: 43 per cent polling recorded in state till 3 pm.

3.09 pm: Record polling registered in Vadodara at 50.46% till 1 pm

3.04 pm: Official polling numbers till 1 pm.

2.55 pm: EC directs FIR against media channels for telecasting Modi press meet.

2.46 pm: Parthiv Patel posts a selfie after casting his vote.

2.35 pm: Ahmedabad records 32%, Banaskantha 36% and Khedbhrama registers 52.61% turnout till 2 pm.

2.20 pm: Narendra Modi faces 2 years of jail for holding Lotus in hand while appearing for casting his vote.

2.13 pm: 37 per cent voter turnout till 2 pm.

2.00 pm: The Gujarat DGP and Chief Secretary asked by the EC to take necessary action after Congress complains about Modi.

1:30 pm: 31 per cent voting recorded till 1 pm.

1:25 pm: Polling being monitored through webcasting at 154 booths in Anand. Micro-observers and videography procedures are also used to ensure smooth polling. Fifteen candidates in fray in Anand.

1:14 pm: Narendra Modi's wife Jashodaben cast her vote from Mehsana.

12.35 pm: Scuffle breaks out between BJP and Congress workers in Ahmedabad over the positioning of ballot table.

In 2009, the BJP had won 15 of the 26 seats while the rest went to the Congress. [See: 2009 results in Gujarat]

[Follow live updates of the 7th phase of Lok Sabha election]

[Follow live updates of polling in Telangana]

BJP's prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi will contest his maiden Lok Sabha election from Vadodara where he will take on Congress's Madhusudan Mistry. [Read: Modi vs Mistry] BJP patriarch LK Advani will seek his sixth term from Gandhinagar from where he has won all elections since 1991 (except 1996 when he didn't contest). Advani is pitted against Congress's Kirit Patel. Bollywood actor Paresh Rawal is contesting from Ahmedabad East constituency.

12.15 pm: Over all Gujarat registers 24 per cent voter turnout till 12 pm.

12.00 pm: Disqualify Modi, Congress asks Election Commission.

11.45 am: EC asks Ahmedabad collector to submit a report regarding Narendra Modi's media briefing criticizing Congress at polling booth.

11.41 am: Advani gives credit for heavy voting to EC and people of the country.

11.38 am: LK Advani casts his vote from Shahpur in Old Ahmedabad.

11.32 am: LK Advani arrives to cast his vote in Shahpur in old Ahmedabad.

11.20 am: Keshubhai Patel agrees to the Modi wave.

11.10 am: 30 per cent voter turnout recorded in Vadodara till 11 am.

10.35 am: 15 per cent voter turnout recorded till 10 am.

10.20 am: Gandhinagar records only 2% voter turnout till 10 am. Bharuch 7.45%, Ankleshwar 9.68%, Bhuj 10.25%, Sabarkantha 8.64, Dahod 8.27%, Navsari 9.35%, Valsad records 8.14% turnout.

10.05 am: Amit Shah casts his vote in Gandhinagar.

We are hopeful Advaniji will win by a huge margin, his biggest yet. Modi is the symbol of change that the country is waiting for. Ab ki baar, Modi Sarkar. (This time, Modi government): Amit Shah.

9.55 am: Gujarat registers 8% polling till 9 am.

Vadodara records 17%, Anand records 11.43, Kheda 8%, Ahmedabad 5.4%, Junagadh 19%, Mehsana 12%, Patan 8.1%, Panchmahal records 6.13% votes.

9.35 am: Congress candidate Dinsha Patel casts his vote from Kheda.

9.25 am: I think about solution but my opponents think about a solution to me. Have you ever seen a government where the Prime Minister does not contest for elections? Senior Congress leaders are not contesting elections to save face: Narendra Modi.

9.23 am: Narendra Modi's mother Heeraben casts her vote in Gandhinagar. She came in an auto-rickshaw to cast her ballot.

9.15 am: On 16th May the message will be clear. There will be a strong government led by BJP. There is no confusion of that. Don't forget Nirbhaya. Don't forget unemployed youth. Don't forget farmers committing suicide. Don't forget how our soldiers were beheaded: Narendra Modi.

9.10 am: Today Gujarat is voting. Other states are voting too. Elections are a festival of democracy, says Narendra Modi. "If there is one person who has the good fortune of widely travelling across India it is Narendra Modi. I can say Mother-Son government is going."

9.00 am: Narendra Modi casts his vote from Gandhinagar.

8.52 am: Narendra Modi arrives to cast his vote from LK Advani's Gandhinagar constituency.

8.40 am: Technical glitch in the EVM of Ahmedabad West.

8.35 am: Rajkot registers 7% votes in first hour. Junagadh registers 10% votes.

8.24 am: Cricketers Cheteshwar Pujara and Parthiv Patel arrive to cast their votes.


8.15 am: Madhusudan Mistry says Congress will win a decisive mandate.

8.10 am: People gather at booth to watch Narendra Modi casting his vote.

8.03 am: Balkrishna Shukla, the BJP leader who vacated his seat for Narendra Modi, casts his vote with family.

7.55 am: Congress candidate from Vadodara, Madhusudan Mistry heading to cast his vote.

7.46 am: Congress candidate from Ahmedabad West - Kirit Solanki - casts his vote.

7.33 am: Former Gujarat CM Shankarsinh Vaghela casts his vote.

7.29 am: 4,05,78,577 people of Gujarat are all set to vote in 45,380 polling booths.

7.00 am: Voting begins. Long queues outside polling booths across the state.

Oneindia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...