Congress loses last bastion in Gujarat as BJP bags Junagadh civic body

Subscribe to Oneindia News
Junagadh, July 22: The BJP won the Junagadh Municipal Corporation election on Tuesday by bagging 41 of the 60 seats. The Congress won 16 seats while the Bahujan Samaj Party got two seats. One seat went to an Independent.

Junagadh was the only municipal corporation ruled by the Congress in the state out of seven big cities and with this defeat, the grand-old party lost its last bastion in saffron-dominated Gujarat. The Congress lost in all the 26 Lok Sabha seats in the state in the election held on April 30.

Gujarat Chief Minister Anandiben Patel congratulated the BJP workers and said the party would live up to the expectations that the people of the state have from it.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, who was the chief minister of Gujarat before, also expressed happiness over the BJP's victory. He thanked the people and congratulated the BJP karyakartas.

The Junagadh loss came just two months after the Lok Sabha disaster

"BJP has emerged as the majority party by winning 41 seats, while the Congress has obtained 16 seats out of 60 seats of 20 wards in Junagadh Municipal Corporation (JMC). Two seats went to Bahujan Samaj Party and one independent candidate managed to get one seat," city election officer and Collector of Junagadh Alok Kumar Pandey said, according to the PTI.

The election was held on Sunday and the counting occurred on Tuesday. The civic body comprises 60 seats of 20 wards. Polling was, however, held in 59 seats as the Congress won one seat uncontested.

Gujarat state election commission sources said 156 candidates contested the election while 2.1 lakh registered voters in Junagadh. The election saw over 54 per cent turnout.

In 2009, the Congress won the Junagadh Municipal Corporation by winning 28 of 51 seats while the BJP won 21. The number of seats later went upto 60 after three more wards were added following demarcation of the city limits.

The BJP also won by-election in Songadh, Amreli and Anjar municipalities. The Congress won the Vijapur Municipality by-election.

Oneindia News

(With PTI inputs)

Please Wait while comments are loading...