PHOTOS: Hyderabad Hotshots clinch IBL title

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Mumbai, Sep 1: The inaugural Indian Badminton League (IBL) was won by Hyderabad Hotshots here on Saturday (August 31). Saina Nehwal-led Hyderabad beat Awadhe Warriors 3-1.

Also read: 10 facts about the champions Hotshots

Saina was the star of the tournament as she remained unbeaten. The "Queen of Indian Badminton" won all her seven matches. She was the only player to remain undefeated throughout the league, that started on August 14.

Again, Saina demolished upcoming star PV Sindhu. This time, in the final, she won 21-15, 21-7.

For the victory, Hyderabad pocketed Rs 3.25 crores. It was a tournament to remember for Saina as she was also adjudged the "Player of tournament." She received a cheque of $1,000 with the award.

The first edition of IBL was well received by the fans. There were six city-based franchises with the top four making the semi-finals.

Here are the pictures from the final.

Hyderabad Hotshots players with the trophy

Hyderabad Hotshots' players celebrate with the trophy after beating Awadhe Warriors 3-1 in the final. Hyderabad pocketed Rs 3.25 crore for the win.

Saina Nehwal unbeaten in the league

Saina Nehwal waves to the crowd after defeating PV Sindhu. Saina remained unbeaten in the league, claiming seven wins.

Warriors' Srikanth wins

Awadhe Warriors' K Srikanth celebrates after winning against Hyderabad Hotoshots' Tanongsak Saemsomboonsuk.

PV Sindhu lost to Saina again

PV Sindhu could not match Saina Nehwal. She lost both her matches to Saina in the inaugural IBL.

The big cheque

Hyderabad Hotshots' Saina Nehwal receives Rs 3.25 crore cheque after winning the league.

Saina is 'Player of the tournament'

Saina Nehwal proved she is the best woman badminton player in India. She remained unbeaten in IBL and won the "Player of the tournament" award. She received $1,000 cheque.

Saina in action

Saina in action against Sindhu in the final in Mumbai.

Men's doubles action

Awadhe Warriors' Markis Kido and Mathias Boe play shot against Hyderabad Hotoshots' Goh V Shem and Wah Lim Khim.

Saina kisses the IBL trophy

Saina kisses the IBL trophy.

Tanongsak Saemsomboonsuk in action

Hyderabad Hotoshots' Tanongsak Saemsomboonsuk plays a shot against Awadhe Warriors' K Srikanth.

Saina smiles

Saina smiles as she poses with the trophy and the medal.

Saina, the superstar

Saina with the IBL trophy. Saina was the superstar of the tournament. Pictures courtesy: Hyderabad Hotshots

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...