How Telangana will be formed out of Andhra: Details Emerge

Subscribe to Oneindia News
Formation process of Telangana: Details
Hyderabad, July 30: During the crucial Congress Working Committee (CWC) meet in New Delhi, Congress President and UPA Chairperson Sonia Gandhi on Tuesday, July 30 urged the Union Cabinet to take steps to create Telangana.

Hyderabad would be the joint capital of Telangana and Seemandhra for 10 years. Telangana would have 10 districts of Andhra Pradesh but the formation of the new state will take some time, informed Ajay Maken along with Digvijay Singh.

Addressing the press, Congress General Secretary Singh said, "We have kept in mind security, water issues, liabilities, etc. All this will be considered while drafting the Bill. Modalities will be worked out for division of assets, liabilities and water resources."

"The formation of Telangana cannot be compared to demand from states. Telangana will have 10 districts. In Hyderabad, there is adequate arrangement for both states to run their affairs for next 10 years," he added.

Total 10 districts of Telangana are -- Adilabad, Karimnagar, Warangal, Khammam, Nalgonda, Hyderabad, Mahbubnagar, Rangareddy, Medak, Nizamabad.

13 districts of Seemandhra are -- Srikakulum, Vizianagaram, Vishakhapatnam, East Godavari, West Godavari, Krishna, Guntur, Prakasam, Nellore, Cuddapah, Chittoor, Ananthapur, Kurnool.

Formation process of Telangana would be --

The Union Cabinet is expected to share its plans with President Pranab Mukherjee and the Andhra Pradesh legislatures. The President and the legislatures would be asked for insights.

Prime Minister Manmohan Singh later would set up a committee to negotiate consensus between the leaders from the three regions of the state for issues like how to share revenue and water.

Both Houses of Parliament -- Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha would have to then pass the resolution for the creation of a separate state.

Main Opposition party -- Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) asked the Cetre to table the Telangana bill in Monsoon Session. However, Digvijay Singh on Tuesday informed that it would not be tabled during the upcoming session of the Parliament which was scheduled to be held in Aug 2013.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...