Karnataka: Siddaramaiah to induct 29 ministers on Saturday

Subscribe to Oneindia News
Bangalore, May 17: Karnataka Chief Minister Siddaramaiah said today that he will induct 29 members to his ministry on Saturday.

"Twenty-nine will be sworn in tomorrow (Saturday)," he told reporters in Mysore. "The swearing-in is at 10:30 am (at Raj Bhavan)," he said.

Siddaramaiah took oath alone May 13. Soon after taking oath, Siddaramaiah had told reporters here that his ministry would have people with "clean image".

He and state Congress president G. Parameshwara were in Delhi since May 15 for talks with party president Sonia Gandhi, vice-president Rahul Gandhi and other leaders to finalise the names from among the over 50 aspirants for the 33 slots in the ministry.

Under the constitutional arrangement, Karnataka can have a 34-member ministry including the chief minister, that is 15 percent of the strength of the assembly which has 225 members, including one nominated.

Most likely candidates for ministerial berths are: Satish Jharkiholi, Prakash Hukkeri, MB Patil, Umashree, Qmarul Islam, Sharan Prakash Patil, AB Malakreddy, Rajashekhar Patil, HK Patil, H Anjaneya, Basavraj Rayreddy, Shivraj Tangadgi, RV Deshpande, Shamanur Shivshankarappa, A Vekatesh Naik, Srinivas Prasad, M H Ambareesh, Tanvir Sait, A Manju, Ramesh Kumar, HS Mahadev Prasad, Krishna Byregowda, Ramlinga Reddy, KJ George, Dinesh Gundurao, TB Jayachandra, Ramanath Rai, Santhosh Lad and KB Koliwad.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...