TMC drubbed in rlwy union polls: Ominous signs for Mamata?

Subscribe to Oneindia News
Kolkata, May 3: Trade unions affiliated to the ruling Trinamool Congress (TMC) have lost the railway union elections in all three railway zones headquartered here. The results of the elections, held between April 25 and 27, were declared on Thursday.

In the Metro Railway, where the union poll was held for the first time, the CPI(M)-backed MTP Railway Men's Union secured 46.02 per cent votes to emerge as the only recognised body.

The Intuc-backed Metro Railway Workers Congress and the TMC's Inttuc-affiliated Metro Railway Progotishil Sramik Karmachari Union had contested the election separately and polled 27.33 per cent and 23.50 per cent votes, respectively. The two parties could have challenged the CPI(M) union had they fought the election together. As per the railway rules, a union needs to get at least 30 per cent of the polled ballots to get recognition.

In Eastern Railway, Inttuc-backed Eastern Railway Employees and Workers Congress finished a poor third after the CPI(M)'s Eastern Railway Men's Union (ERMU) and the Intuc's Eastern Railway Men's Congress (ERMC). While the ERMU secured 46.11 per cent votes, the ERMC got 36.11 per cent votes and retained recognition. The TMC-backed body received just 11.65 per cent votes.

In South Eastern Railway, the Inttuc-affiliated South Eastern Railway Mens' Trinamool Congress polled a meager 5.21 per cent votes while the Congress-backed South Eastern Railway Men's Union received 45.32 per cent while the CPI(M)-backed South Eastern Railway Men's Union polled 41.70 per cent votes. Both these unions retained their recognition for another five years.

It was a forgettable debut made by the TMC in the railway union polls. The party had earlier backed unions affiliated to the Intuc. The railway union elections were last held in 2007.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...