Kerala Tourism Booster: Visa on Arrival in God's Own Country

Subscribe to Oneindia News
Kochi, April 22: The Central Government finally approved the scheme following which tourists from foreign countries will receive Visa on Arrival (VoA) at two international airports of Kochi and Thiruvananthapuram in Kerala -- God's Own Country.

Citizens of the eleven countries which would be facilitated with tourist visa after their arrival in Kerala are -- Japan, Singapore, Finland, Luxembourg, New Zealand, the Philippines, Cambodia, Laos, Vietnam, Myanmar and Indonesia.

Kerala Tourism Minister AP Anil Kumar said that preparations to implement the scheme at the two airports is currently underway. The latest move is expected to boost the tourism sector of the state.

The minister hoped the new scheme and the convenience it offers will encourage more tourists from these countries to travel to Kerala.

Decision to introduce VoA service at five airports including Thiruvananthapuram and Kochi was taken at the third meeting of the Inter-ministerial Committee on Tourism.

Meanwhile, the VoA service has already received a green signal from the state home ministry, informed the Minister for State for Home Affairs Mullappally Ramachandran.

The groundwork is nearing completion and service will soon be available for tourists. Minister of State for Civil Aviation, K C Venugopal is leading efforts to put in place the facilities required to implement Visa on Arrival at the two airports.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...