Resignation of 5 DMK ministers accepted by PM

Subscribe to Oneindia News
Manmohan Singh
New Delhi, March 20: The resignation of 5 DMK ministers were accepted by Prime Minister Manmohan Singh late on Wednesday night. They have been forwarded to the President.

With that, Union Minister Srikant Jena will also be handling the chemicals and fertilizers portfolio. It was previously managed by MK Alagiri.

According to reports, the Trinamool Congress, 'may ask for a no-confidence motion against the government' on Thursday, since BJP is undecided on the trust vote.

On Wednesday morning, the DMK had ruled out any compromise over 'ending the nine-year alliance with the Congress with a heavy heart over the UN resolution on Sri Lanka'. "There is no question of reconsidering when the resolution is to be passed day after tomorrow as there are just two days left now. In no way is India helping the Tamils," DMK leader TKS Elangovan was quoted saying.

Meanwhile, the all- party meeting on the Sri Lankan resolutions remained inconclusive. According to sources, most parties opposed a 'çountry- specific' resolution.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...