BSP announces 1st list of candidates for 2014 polls

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Azamgarh, Dec 9: The Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) on Sunday announced its first list of three candidates for the Lok Sabha elections slated in 2014. The announcement was made by the BSP national general secretary Naseemuddin Siddiqui in a workers meeting held at Kunwar Singh Park here.

Sitting MPs Dara Singh Chauhan and Dr Baliram would contest from Ghosi seat in Mau district and Lalganj constituency in Azamgarh district, respectively. Sitting MLA from Mubarakpur Assembly seat Shah Alam alias Guddu Jamali would contest from Azamgarh Sadar constituency. BSP state president Ram Achal Rajbhar and former Vidhan Sabha speaker Sukhdev Rajbhar were also present in the meeting.

BSP's rival party, the Samajwadi Party (SP), has already declared its first list of 55 candidates for the 2014 general elections for Uttar Pradesh in mid-November. The first list, which was declared by the party's national general secretary, Ramgopal Yadav, features 18 sitting MPs and two MLAs. The SP, however, did not field candidates from Rae Berali and Amethi, the two constituencies in the state known to be traditional Congress strongholds.


Please Wait while comments are loading...