Samajwadi Party announces candidates' names for 2014 polls

Subscribe to Oneindia News
Lucknow, Nov 16: The Samajwadi Party (SP) on Friday released the first list of its election candidates for the next Lok Sabha polls scheduled for 2014. Four of the 55 candidates, whose names were announced on Friday, belong to the Yadav family.

Ram Gopal Yadav, the SP general secretary said while announcing the list that the party was ready to fight elections even though the polls were still away by over a year. The four Yadavs to compete include party chief and former UP Chief Minister Mulayam Singh Yadav, his daughter-in-law and wife of the current Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav, Dimple Yadav, Mulayam's nephew Dharmendra Yadav and Ram Gopal Yadav's son Akshay Yadav. The four candidates will run from Mainpuri, Kannauj, Budaun and Firozabad, respectively.

Some of the other names that the SP has decided to field in the next elections include Gaurav Swarup (Muzaffarnagar), SP Hasan (Moradabad), Brij Kishore (Basti), Nahid Hasan (Kairana), Anna Shukla (Unnao), DN Singh (Pratapgarh), Yashvir Singh (Nagina), Mata Prasad Pandey (Siddharth Nagar), Surendra Patel (Varanasi), Brij Bhushan Singh (Kaisarganj) and Kirtivardhan (Gonda).

The party has not announced names of any candidate from Amethi and Rae Bareli, traditionally strongholds of the Gandhis of the Congress.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...