Boxing team to decide action on Vikas ouster after meeting

Written by: Pti
Subscribe to Oneindia News
Vikas Krishan
London, Aug 4: Stunned by Vikas Krishan's ouster from the Olympic Games following a reversal of decision by the International Boxing Association, Indian Chef-de-Mission PK Muralidharan Raja today said the country's contingent will not take AIBA's decision lying down even though it has "limited options" in the matter.

In a stunning reversal of fortunes, Vikas (69kg) was ousted after AIBA overturned the result of his pre-quarterfinal bout, that he had won, following a review. The 20-year-old had won 13-11 over Errol Spence in a thrilling contest last night but following an appeal by his rival's team management, the AIBA awarded the bout 15-13 to the American citing the fouls committee by the Indian which were not noticed by the referee.

Raja, also the Indian Boxing Federation's Secretary General, said the team will not accept the decision. "I will be meeting the Indian boxing team at 10:00 am (2:30 pm IST) and then we will decide the future course of action," Raja told PTI.

"The decision has been overturned but it's not as if we cannot do anything about it," he insisted.

But Raja admitted that there were not too many options in front of the team after the world body's review and reversal of the original decision.

"In such cases, the jury decision is final. Because they replay the bout and go through it very closely before deciding whether to stick to the original decision or overturn it. Not many options are there but let's see. We will still try to find a way forward," he said. 

Earlier, the AIBA cited fouls committed by Vikas as the reason for overturning his 13-11 win.

"There were a total of nine (9) holding fouls committed by the Indian boxer in the third round alone. However the referee only gave one caution," the AIBA said in a statement after a review by its Competition Jury.

"In the second round, at the time 02:38, the boxer from India spitted out his gumshield intentionally. However the referee didn't give any warning," it added.

Based on these "findings", the jury members "unanimously" decided to award Spence four points, thereby making him the winner.

"Based on the AIBA Technical & Competition Rules 12.1.9, the referee should have given at least two (2) warnings to the Indian boxer. Although the boxer from India intentionally spitted out his gumshield, the referee's view was blocked by the boxer from the US and was not able to see the action," the international body said.


Please Wait while comments are loading...