Pranab Mukherjee wins election, becomes 14th President

Subscribe to Oneindia News
Pranab Mukherjee
New Delhi, Jul 22: Official announcements are yet to be made but sources informed that Pranab Mukherjee has become the 14th president of India. He has won the presidential election leaving his opponent PA Sangma far behind.

An official announcement by the election commission is expected to be made soon. According to sources, Mr Mukherjee got 5.25 lakh of the 10.5 lakh total votes. out of the 748 votes of MPs, Pranab got 527 while his sole opponent PA Sangma got 206 votes only.

Each MLA vote has a designated value depending on which state he or she belongs to. All MP votes have a value of 708. The total value of MP votes is 5,49,408 and the total value of all MLA votes, across India, is 5,49,474. A total 10.98 lakh votes.

However, cross voting were seen in Karnataka and Jammu Kashmir. Earlier experts claimed that Sangma might not get more than 4 votes in the National Congress ruled state. But surprising all, the results showed that Sangma got 15 votes, though Mr Mukherjee got 82 percent votes.

On the contrary, Mr Mukherjee bagged 117 and Sangma got 103 votes in Karnataka, a BJP ruled state. Here it can be mentioned that Sangma was mainly supported by BJP and the results in the state will definitely create problem for Jagadish Shettar, the news Chief Minister of the state.

Meanwhile, Mr Mukherjee got 100 percent vote in Kerala as Sangma got 0 vote in the UDF ruled state. The opposition in the state CPI(M) also supported UPA's candidate.

Sources also informed that 15 votes were declared invalid. Supporters of Pranab Mukherjee have already started celebration. Mr Mukherjee will take his oath as the 14th President of India on Jul 25.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...