PM, Sonia, Pranab cast their ballots in Prez poll

Written by: Pti
Subscribe to Oneindia News
Manmohan Singh-Sonia Gandhi-Pranab Mukherjee
New Delhi, Jul 19: Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, Congress chief Sonia Gandhi and UPA Presidential nominee Pranab Mukherjee today cast their ballots in the 14th Presidential election.

Congress leader Rahul Gandhi also joined the trio in exercising his franchise in the election where a clear favourite Mukherjee is pitted against PA Sangma sponsored by the BJP and some other opposition parties. Singh, Gandhi and Mukherjee waved at the group of camerapersons covering the elections.

Among the early voters were Samajwadi Party chief Mulayam Singh Yadav, BSP supremo Mayawati, NCP President and Agriculture Minister Sharad Pawar. From the opposition, BJP leaders Murli Manohar Joshi, Anurag Thakur, Yashodhara Raje, BJD leaders B Mahtab, Baijayant Panda, PK Patsani were among the early voters.

Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs Harish Rawat said that over 350 electors had cast their ballots within the first hour since the polling began at 10:00 AM. As many as 699 MPs and eight MLAs are expected to exercise their franchise in Parliament House.


Please Wait while comments are loading...