London Olympics 2012: Full list of Indian athletes

Subscribe to Oneindia News
81 athletes to represent India at London Games
Bangalore, Jul 18: A record number of 81 athletes will represent India at London Olympics 2012 this year. This is the largest contingent from India for the Games. In Beijing Olympics 2008, India had sent 57 athletes for 12 events.

London Olympics Special

This time it will be 24 more and 13 sports. The Indian contingent comprises of 58 men and 23 women. The Indian Olympic Association (IOA) has cut down drastically its list of officials for this year's Games.

From 166 in Beijing, this time it will be only 10. Apart from 81 athletes, there will be 54 support staff, 10 government sponsored officials, seven contingent officials and 12 sports federation officials.

Ajit Pal Singh is the Chef de Mission for the Indian contingent. London Olympics begin on Jul 27 and curtains come down on Aug 12.

Events Participants
Women’s discus throw Krishna Poonia
Women’s 800 meters Tintu Luka
Men’s discus throw Vikas Gowda
Women’s triple jump Mayookha Johny
Men’s shot put Om Prakash Karhana
20 km walk Babubhai Panocha
20 km walk Gurmeet Singh
Women’s discus throw Seema Antil
Marathon Ram Singh Yadav
Men’s triple jump Ranjith Maheshwari
Events Participants
Women’s Recurve event Laishram Bombayla Devi
Women’s Recurve event Deepika Kumari
Women’s Recurve event Chekrovolu Swuro
Men’s Recurve event Jayanta Talukdar
Men’s Recurve event Rahul Banerjee
Men’s Recurve event Tarundeep Rai
Events Participants
49 kg weight Devendro Singh
56kg weight Shiva Thapa
60 kg weight Jai Bhagwan
64 kg weight Manoj Kumar
69 kg weight  Vikas Krishnan
75kg weight Vijender Singh
81kg weight Sumit Sangwan
Women boxing event 51kg Mary Kom
Events Participants
Women’s Single Saina Nehwal
Mixed Doubles Jwala Gutta and V. Diju
Women Doubles Jwala Gutta and Ashwini Ponappa
Men’s single Parupalli Kashyap
Events Participants
Women’s 63 kg event Garima Chaudhary
Events Participants
Men’s Hockey Team Event Bharat Chettri (Captain & Goal keeper),Sardar Singh (Vice Captain),P. R. Sreejesh (Goal keeper),Sandeep Singh,V. R. Raghunath,Ignace Tirkey, Manpreet Singh, Birendra Lakra, Gurbaj Singh, Sowmarpet Sunil, Danish Mujtaba, Shivendra Singh, Tushar Khandker, Gurwinder Singh Chandi, Dharamvir Singh, S. K. Uthappa, Sarvanjit Singh (Reserves), Kothajit Singh (Reserves)
Events Participants
Men’s 10m Air Rifle event Abhinav Bindra
Men’s 10m Air Rifle event, Men’s 50m Rifle Three Position event and Men’s 50m Rifle Prone event Gagan Narang
Double Trap event Ronjan Singh Sodhi
Women’s 10m Air Pistol & Women’s 25m Sports Pistol event Annu Raj Singh
Women’s trap event Shagun Chaudhary
Men’s Trap event Manavjit Singh Sandhu
25m sports pistol event Rahi Sarnobat
Men’s 25m Rapid Fire Pistol Vijay Kumar
Men’s 50m Rifle Three Position event Sanjeev Rajput
Men’s  50m Rifle Prone event Joydeep Karmakar
Women’s 10m Air Pistol event Heena Sidhu
Events Participants
Men’s 1500 m Freestyle Ullalmath Gagan
Events Participants
Men’s single Somdev Devvarman
Men’s Doubles Mahesh Bhupathi & Rohan Bopanna
Men’s Doubles Leander Paes & Vishnu Vardhan
Women’s Doubles Rushmi Chakravarthi & Sania Mirza
Mixed doubles Leander Paes & Sania Mirza
Table Tennis
Events Participants
Men’s single Soumyajit Ghosh
Women’s Single Ankita Das
Events Participants
Single sculls Swarn Singh Virk
Lightweight double sculls Sandeep Kumar & Manjeet Singh
Events Participants
60 kg category Yogeshwar Dutt
60 kg category Amit Kumar
66 kg category. Sushil Kumar
55kg category Geeta Kumari Phogat
74 kg category Narsingh Yadav
Events Participants
Women’s 48 kg event Ngangbam Soniya Chanu
Men’s 69 kg event Katulu Ravi Kumar

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...