51 newspapers stopped publication in last three years: Govt

Written by: Pti
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, May 22: As many as 51 newspapers have stopped publication in the country since April 2009, the government informed the Lok Sabha on Tuesday.

As per information provided by Minister of State for I&B Ministry CM Jatua, the number of newspapers that had folded up its operation are 15 in fiscal year 2009-10, 14 (2010-11), 17 (2011-2012) and five (up to April 30 this year).

While responding to another query, Jatua said that a ‘large number of newspapers’ were not submitting their annual statements to the Registrar of Newspapers for India -- an exercise which is required as per the Press and Registration of Books Act.

"A large number of newspapers have not been submitting Annual Statements which precludes RNI from knowing exactly the number of newspapers which have discontinued their publication," Jatua said.


Please Wait while comments are loading...