Jeev made member of Royal Tropy Players' Committee

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, May 2: Seasoned Indian golfer Jeev Milkha Singh has been made a member of an expanded Royal Trophy Players' Committee, which comprises six-time Major winner Sir Nick Faldo and former world number one Ian Woosnam among others.

The committee, which also features two-time Masters champion José Maria Olazábal and Ryder Cup player Paul McGinley, has been expanded to include an additional three members from the Asian region.

"We are very pleased to confirm that the Royal Trophy Players' Committee will now feature a European and an Asian Division. Japanese golfing legend Isao Aoki has been nominated Chairman of the Asian Players' Committee with four-time Asian Team Captain Naomichi 'Joe' Ozaki and three-time Asian Team member Jeev Milkha Singh being appointed as inaugural members," stated Lincoln Venancio, the Royal Trophy Managing Director.

"Three additional positions have been reserved for appointments to the Asian Players' Committee later this year; one for a member from China, a second for a member from Korea and a final position is presently under consideration," added Lincoln Venancio.

The Royal Trophy Players' Committee holds the responsibility of steering the Championship into the future and directing the competition towards the core objectives of honoring the legacy of the late legendary Seve Ballesteros – the visionary of the Competition who passed away in May of 2011 following a battle against brain cancer.


Please Wait while comments are loading...