Andhra Pradesh: Chiranjeevi resigns from assembly membership

Subscribe to Oneindia News
Hyderabad, Mar 29: Politician K Chiranjeevi resigned from the membership of Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly after his election to Rajya Sabha.

The resignation was handed over to Assembly Speaker Nadendla Manohar by the actor turned politician, who was elected to the assembly in 2009. Chiranjeevi will take an oath as Rajya Sabha member on Apr 3.

The number of vacancies in the 294-member AP Assembly has come up to 18 following Chiranjeevi's resignation.

Early this month 16 ruling Congress MLAs were disqualified by the speaker and the resignation of a Praja Rajyam Party MLA was also accepted for violating their respective parties and voting against the government on the no-confidence motion.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...