Manipur: 11 non-Cong parties form alliance ahead of counting

Written by: Pti
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Imphal: Counting of votes in the 60-member assembly in Manipur will be taken up at 8am on Tuesday in all the nine districts of the state, Election Commission sources said.

The Congress had contested all 60 seats, the Trinamool Congress 48, Manipur State Congress Party 31, CPI 24, NCP 22,

BJP 19, Manipur People's Party 14, the National Peoples Party. Other small parties also contested a number of seats. The elections were held on January 28.

Meanwhile, 11 non-Congress parties formed the Peoples Democratic Aliance (PDA) on Sunday as announced by its Convenor M Nara belonging to the CPI.

The 11 parties in the the PDA are Trinamool Congress, CPI, Manipur State Congress Party, National Peoples Party, Lok Jansakti Party, NCP, Manipur People's Party, JD(U), CPI(M), Naga People's Front and BJP.

Fighting the elections alone this time, the CPI was a partner in the Secular Democratic Front government led by the Congress, formed in 2007.


Please Wait while comments are loading...