Manipur election results 2012: Congress saves its face

Subscribe to Oneindia News
Okram Ibobi Singh
Imphal, Mar 6: Congress failed in all other states but it seems that people in Manipur still have faith on the party and on its Chief Minister Okram Ibobi Singh who grabbed the power in the state for the third consecutive time.

Despite facing several obstacles on its way, Congress won the assembly election 2012. 11 non-Congress parties formed an alliance to stop Congress to continue its reign in the state but all efforts by the alliance failed as Congress won 42 seats while other parties managed to win 18 seats only.

The 11 non-Congress parties were - NCP, Manipur People's Party (MPP), CPI, CPI-M, JD-U, National People's Party (NPP), Manipur State Congress Party (MSCP), Trinamool Congress, Lok Jana Shakti Party, BJP and the Naga People's Front (NPF).

The non-Congress alliance was not the sole obstacle in front of Congress, at least seven terror outfits had imposed a ban on Mr Singh's party. The terror groups also attacked several Congress contestants and supporters of the party ahead of Jan 28 when the state casted its vote.

Despite all such hindrance, Congress succeeded to prove itself. The party had won 30 seats during assembly election 2007 but this time he won 42 seats.

The CM Mr Singh defeated his rival from the BJP Indira Oinam by a huge margin of over 15,000 votes and retained his Thoubal seat.

Mr Singh's wife Landhoni Devi also defeated rival Jatra Singh of Manipur People's Party (MPP) by a huge margin of over 9,000 votes and won the Khangabok.

Opposition parties received a severe jolt after three leaders, Radhabinod Koijam of the NCP, O Joy Singh and the Chaoba Singh of MPP, lost to their rivals. Koijam, who is the leader of the Opposition in the outgoing Manipur assembly, is a former chief minister. Koijam was instrumental for bringing the 11 non-congress parties under one anti-Congress alliance - Peoples' Democratic Alliance (PDA).

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...