UP Polls: Non-Congress candidate to be next President?

Written by: Ria
Subscribe to Oneindia News
Congress Flag
New Delhi, Mar 6: The whole nation is waiting for Congress' fate which will change with the end results in five states.

While Samajwadi Party is leading in Uttar Pradesh in 190 seats, BSP is following with lead in 100 seats. It has been predicted that UPA will find it difficult to get its nominee elected as India's next-President.

In 2007, Congress-led UPA government had made Pratibha Patel the President of India. She'd won the Presidential race by defeating her NDA supported rival Bhairon Singh Shekhawat. (Read More: Uttar Pradesh assembly election 2012)

Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman K Rahman Khan's term will end on Apr 2. With the Rajya Sabha elections, UPA will come to know about the presidential poll result which will be held later this year.

On the other hand, West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee has formed an 'east coast axis' with her counterparts from Bihar and Odisha. So, Congress is not hoping for Trinamool support as the party has 19 members in the Lok Sabha and six in the Rajya Sabha.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...