Maya's proposed 'political map' of Uttar Pradesh

Subscribe to Oneindia News
Lucknow, Nov 16: Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Mayawati has proposed the division of the largest state into four parts for better administration. The new division might cause a huge disturbance and disorder to Uttar Pradesh.

Maya's decision to divide the state is considered as a political stunt before the Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections in 2012. According to a source, Maya will send the resolution to the central government demanding to create Purvanchal, Bundelkahand, Awadh Pradesh and Paschim Pradesh after dividing Uttar Pradesh.

However, the main opposition party in the state, Samajwadi Party (SP) has strongly opposed the proposal brought out by Maywati. Sources from SP claimed that the party will not support Mayawati and will protest against the proposal in the upcoming winter session of the assembly 2011.

Now, if the proposed division would take place, there might be no existence of state by the name of Uttar Pradesh. After the proposed division, the political and geographical map of the state will be as follows:

Poorvanchal- 32 districts. Total seats in the Legislative Assembly 187
Current state: BSP- 102, SP- 47, BJP- 20, INC- 12, Others 6

Awadh Pradesh: It will have 14 districts. Total seats in the Legislative Assembly will be 79.
Current state: BSP- 43, SP- 23, BJP- 9, INC 3, Others 1

Paschim Pradesh: It will have 22 districts. Total seats will be 116.
Current situation: BSP- 61, BJP- 19, SP- 14, RLD- 10, INC- 3, Others 9

Bundelkhand: 7 districts- 21 total seats- BSP 15, SP 4, INC 2, BJP 0

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...