No Metro trains after 8 PM on Diwali

Written by: Pti
Subscribe to Oneindia News
New Delhi, Oct 24: Delhi Metro trains will not run after 8 pm on Diwali. According to Delhi Metro, the last train will start at 8 pm on Wednesday from the all the six terminal stations -- Dilshad Garden, Rithala, Jahangir Puri, Huda City Centre, Noida City Centre, Dwarka Sector-21, Yamuna Bank, Vaishali, Inderlok, Mundka, Central Secretariat and Badarpur stations.

Metro train services will run as usual for rest of the day on Diwali from 6:00 am onwards, a Metro spokesperson said.

However for the 'Bhai Duj' festival on Friday, special arrangements have been made to cater to the rush.

The spokesperson said Metro trains will run at peak-hour frequency for additional period. "Over 15 trains which are normally withdrawn from lines during off peak hours -- 12:30 pm to 04:30 pm -- will be kept in service performing over 200 extra trips making a total of about 2700 trips on that day," the spokesperson said.

DMRC will also deploy more Customer Facilitation Agents to help and guide commuters on October 28 at busy Metro stations and will also operate additional ticket counters, if required, to handle the increased load. Metro train services on Bhai Duj will be available from 6.00 am to 11.00 pm as usual.


Please Wait while comments are loading...